Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Archives | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

Minority Office — Press Release


November 19, 2012

CONTACT: Michelle DeMarco, 850.487.5833

New Leadership Team Elected By Senate Democratic Caucus

Tallahassee —

The 14-member Senate Democratic Caucus on Monday unanimously elected Chris Smith (D-Ft. Lauderdale) and Maria Sachs (D-Delray Beach) as Senate Democratic Leader and Senate Democratic Leader Pro Tempore, respectively, for the 2012-2014 legislative term.

 “The campaign is over; it’s time to work,” declared Senator Smith, noting his focus would be on improving education, implementing Obamacare and lowering skyrocketing homeowners’ property insurance rates.

 Senator Smith added that jobs, elections reform, criminal justice and economic development were equally high on his priority list, and that the Caucus would play a critical role as “the conscience of the Capital.”

 The additional members of the leadership team elected Monday are: Senator Oscar Braynon (D-Miami Gardens) as Caucus Whip, Senator Darren Soto (D-Orlando) as Deputy Whip, and Senator Bill Montford (D-Tallahassee) as Policy Chair.

 The 2013 Legislative Session is scheduled to begin on March 5, 2013.