

THE FLORIDA SENATE SENATOR WILTON SIMPSON President

MEMORANDUM

TO:All SenatorsFROM:Wilton SimpsonSUBJECT:Committee Leadership AssignmentsDATE:December 2, 2020

The day-to-day, year-round work that takes places within our Senate committees is a critical component of the legislative process. In my view, the tremendous responsibility to chair a Senate committee is the most significant and impactful leadership role Senators have during their tenure. With this in mind, over the last several weeks, I have been considering our committee structure, and which Senators I believe can best serve the Senate in various committee leadership positions.

I have attached a list of chair and vice chair assignments by committee. Moving forward, I have requested that the staff director assigned to each committee contact the chair and vice chair by the end of the week to begin the process of formulating a schedule for the upcoming interim committee weeks.

You will notice I have added a Select Committee on Pandemic Preparedness and Response. The select committee will review all facets of the state response to the ongoing pandemic, and identify, as necessary, areas where there may be a specific role for the Legislature to make improvements to benefit our state moving forward.

As mentioned in a prior communication, I do not intend to make appointments to the Committee on Reapportionment until we get a little closer to the timeframe when the bulk of the committee work in this subject area will occur. I will provide updates regarding that specific timeframe as they become available.

Finally, I am working to finalize the membership of each committee and look forward to completing those assignments in the coming days. Thank you for your patience, as I know we are all eager to continue on with the important work ahead.

President Pro Tempore: Aaron Bean

Republican Leader: Debbie Mayfield Democratic Leader: Gary Farmer

Agriculture

Darryl Rouson, Chair Jennifer Bradley, Vice Chair

Appropriations

Kelli Stargel, Chair Aaron Bean, Vice Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Environment, and General Government

Ben Albritton, Chair Ray Rodrigues, Vice Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Criminal and Civil Justice

Keith Perry, Chair Jeff Brandes, Vice Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Education

Doug Broxson, Chair Manny Diaz, Vice Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Services

Aaron Bean, Chair Ana Maria Rodriguez, Vice Chair

President Pro Tempore: Aaron Bean

Republican Leader: Debbie Mayfield Democratic Leader: Gary Farmer

Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development

George Gainer, Chair Ed Hooper, Vice Chair

Banking and Insurance

Jim Boyd, Chair Doug Broxson, Vice Chair

Children, Families, and Elder Affairs

Lauren Book, Chair Ben Albritton, Vice Chair

Commerce and Tourism

Ed Hooper, Chair Tom Wright, Vice Chair

Community Affairs

Jennifer Bradley, Chair Ileana Garcia, Vice Chair

Criminal Justice

Jason Pizzo, Chair Jeff Brandes, Vice Chair

President Pro Tempore: Aaron Bean

Republican Leader: Debbie Mayfield Democratic Leader: Gary Farmer

Education

Joe Gruters, Chair Shev Jones, Vice Chair

Environment and Natural Resources

Jason Brodeur, Chair Linda Stewart, Vice Chair

Ethics and Elections

Dennis Baxley, Chair Annette Taddeo, Vice Chair

Finance and Tax

Ana Maria Rodriguez, Chair Janet Cruz, Vice Chair

Governmental Oversight and Accountability

Ray Rodrigues, Chair Joe Gruters, Vice Chair

Health Policy

Manny Diaz, Chair Jason Brodeur, Vice Chair

Judiciary

Jeff Brandes, Chair Audrey Gibson, Vice Chair

President Pro Tempore: Aaron Bean

Republican Leader: Debbie Mayfield Democratic Leader: Gary Farmer

Military and Veterans Affairs, Space, and Domestic Security

Tom Wright, Chair Gayle Harrell, Vice Chair

Regulated Industries

Travis Hutson, Chair Lauren Book, Vice Chair

Rules

Kathleen Passidomo, Chair Ileana Garcia, Vice Chair

Transportation

Gayle Harrell, Chair Keith Perry, Vice Chair

Select Committee on Pandemic Preparedness and Response

Danny Burgess, Chair Randolph Bracy, Vice Chair

President Pro Tempore: Aaron Bean

Republican Leader: Debbie Mayfield Democratic Leader: Gary Farmer

Joint Legislative Budget Commission

Kelli Stargel, Alt. Chair

Joint Administrative Procedures Committee

Ben Albritton, Alt. Chair

Joint Committee on Public Counsel Oversight

Bobby Powell, Alt. Chair

Joint Legislative Auditing Committee

Dennis Baxley, Alt. Chair

Joint Select Committee on Collective Bargaining

Ray Rodrigues, Alt. Chair