THE FLORIDA LEGISLATURE





May 5, 2011

The Honorable Mike Haridopolos President of the Senate

The Honorable Dean Cannon Speaker, House of Representatives

Dear Mr. President and Mr. Speaker:

Your Conference Committee on the disagreeing votes of the two houses on SB 2122, same being:

An act relating to consumer protection.

having met, and after full and free conference, do recommend to their respective houses as follows:

- 1. That the House of Representatives recede from its Amendment 1.
- 2. That the Senate and House of Representatives adopt the Conference Committee Amendment attached hereto, and by reference made a part of this report.

Managers on the part of the Senate

JD Alexander, Chair	Joe Negron, Vice Chair
Thad Altman	Lizbeth Benacquisto
Michael S. "Mike" Bennett	Ellyn Setnor Bogdanoff
Oscar Braynon II	Larcenia J. Bullard
Charles S. "Charlie" Dean, Sr.	Nancy C. Detert
Miguel Diaz de la Portilla	Paula Dockery
Greg Evers	Mike Fasano
Anitere Flores	Don Gaetz, At Large
Rene Garcia	Andy Gardiner, At Large
Alan Hays	Anthony C. "Tony" Hill, Sr.
Dennis L. Jones, D.C.	Arthenia L. Joyner
Jack Latvala	Evelyn J. Lynn
Gwen Margolis	Bill Montford
Jim Norman	Steve Oelrich
Nan H. Rich, At Large	Garrett Richter
Jeremy Ring	Maria Lorts Sachs
David Simmons	Gary Siplin, At Large
Christopher L. "Chris" Smith	Eleanor Sobel
Ronda Storms	John Thrasher, At Large
Stephen R. Wise	

Managers on the part of the House of Representatives

Denise Grimsley, Committee Chair	Trudi K. Williams, Chair
Ben Albritton	Frank Artiles
Gary Aubuchon, At Large	Leonard L. Bembry
Charles S. "Chuck" Chestnut IV, At Large	Steve Crisafulli
Tom Goodson	Dorothy L. Hukill, At Large
Clay Ingram	Paige Kreegel, At Large
John Legg, At Large	Carlos Lopez-Cantera, At Large
Seth McKeel, At Large	Elizabeth W. Porter
William L. "Bill" Proctor, At Large	Patrick Rooney, Jr
Darryl Ervin Rouson, At Large	Franklin Sands
Ron Saunders, At Large	Robert C. "Rob" Schenck, At Large
William D. Snyder. At Large	Will W. Weatherford, At Large

May 5, 2011

The Conference Committee Amendment for SB 2122, relating to state government operations, provides for the following:

- Within the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (DACS), consolidates the Division of Dairy Industry within the Division of Food Safety.
- Transfers authority for the regulation and enforcement of the state Lemon Law and the price gouging program entirely to the Department of Legal Affairs.
- Renames the Division of Forestry within the DACS as the Florida Forest Service.
- Reduces the membership of the Citrus Commission from twelve members to nine, reduces the number of citrus districts from four to three, and reassigns counties to those three districts.
- Provides that the Executive Director of the Department of Citrus be appointed by a majority vote of the commission and serve a four-year term, except for the initial term, which expires on June 30, 2011, and shall be subject to confirmation by the Senate in the legislative session following appointment.
- Imposes limits on the tax per box of grapefruit, oranges, and tangerines. The tax on grapefruit, tangerines, and fresh oranges is capped at the rate in effect on May 1, 2011, and the tax rate on oranges in processed form cannot exceed 25 cents per box.
- Requires employees of the Department of Citrus to work a five-day, 40-hour work week, except when on approved leave.