

LEGISLATIVE ACTION

Senate House

Comm: RCS 03/11/2013

The Committee on Commerce and Tourism (Thompson) recommended the following:

Senate Amendment (with title amendment)

Delete lines 40 - 48

and insert:

2

3 4

5

6

8

9

10

11 12

(3) (a) The commission is composed of 13 members who are appointed in the following manner:

- 1. Three members appointed by the Governor.
- 2. Two members appointed by the President of the Senate.
- 3. Two members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
 - 4. Two members appointed by the Secretary of State.
 - 5. Two members appointed by the Commissioner of Education.



- 6. Two members appointed by the Florida Conference of Black State Legislators.
- (b) A member of the commission shall be appointed for a term of 4 years, except that at the time of the initial appointment, two members appointed by the Governor, one member appointed by the President of the Senate, one member appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one member appointed by the Secretary of State, and one member appointed by the Commissioner of Education shall be appointed for a term of 2 years. A member may be appointed to a subsequent term.

========= T I T L E A M E N D M E N T ==========

And the title is amended as follows:

Delete line 9

27 and insert:

13

14

15 16

17

18 19

20

2.1

22

23

24 25

26

28

29

the appointment and terms of commission members; providing for