HR 9097 2014

House Resolution

A resolution recognizing the 81st anniversary of the Village of Biscayne Park.

3

5

6

7

8

1 2

WHEREAS, in the early 1920s, Arthur Mertlow Griffing began developing Griffing Biscayne Park Estates and carefully planted the area with shrubs and trees to create the look and feel of a botanical garden, and

9

11

12

WHEREAS, hoping to attract young families, Mr. Griffing provided safe environments for children to play near their homes by creating many cul-de-sacs, and the well-landscaped streets, medians, and park areas laid out by Mr. Griffing set the stage for the first homes erected in the development, and

1314

15

16

WHEREAS, on December 31, 1931, by a vote of its 113 citizens, the Town of Biscayne Park was incorporated, and on June 16, 1933, a state charter was granted, changing the name of the town to the Village of Biscayne Park, and

1718

19

20

21

WHEREAS, in 1933, in the midst of the Great Depression, the Federal Emergency Relief Administration provided the labor for construction of a log cabin, a unique and distinct homage to the Great Depression as well as to the simplicity and perseverance of the American frontier, and

22

24

WHEREAS, the cost to construct the cabin was met by individual donations which, given the national financial

Page 1 of 2

HR 9097 2014

hardship at the time, reflected the generosity and commitment to community of the residents of the Village of Biscayne Park, and

WHEREAS, at a special ceremony on January 24, 1935, the finished log cabin was officially dedicated to the Village of Biscayne Park, and

WHEREAS, the structure continues to be the center of daily operations of the Village of Biscayne Park and its approximately 3,000 residents and a proud symbol of the community's humble beginnings and continued success, NOW, THEREFORE,

3435

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

37

3839

40

41

36

That the Village of Biscayne Park and Mayor David Coviello, Vice Mayor Barbara Watts, and Commissioners Bob Anderson, Fred Jonas, and Roxanna Ross are recognized on the occasion of the village's 81st anniversary.