By Senator Gardiner

13-03463A-15 20151646

Senate Resolution

A resolution congratulating the Winter Park High School Wildcats Special Olympics team on winning the 2015 Florida High School Athletic Association Championship.

567

8

9

10

11

12

13

1415

1617

18

19

20

2122

2324

25

2627

1

2

3

4

WHEREAS, the 2015 Winter Park High School Wildcats Special Olympics team finished the season as the Florida High School Athletic Association State Champions, and

WHEREAS, on February 26, 2015, the Winter Park Wildcats defeated other unified basketball teams, which join people with and without intellectual disabilities on the same team, and

WHEREAS, the tournament victory marked the team's first state championship in the first-ever unified basketball tournament, the Wildcats emerging with a 4-0 record, and

WHEREAS, exhibiting exemplary leadership and guidance to the team throughout the season were coaches Amy Connelly-Howard, Carrie Allen, Deb Hammonds, and Brian DiCarlo, and

WHEREAS, outstanding skill, sportsmanship, and competitiveness are characteristics that have been consistently demonstrated by Wildcats Michael Rivera, Hector Machado, Autum Heltemes, Michael Tuggle, Adam Wright, Ethan Smith, Mark Foust, John Hotaling, Travis Jones, and Sean Foley, and

WHEREAS, the residents of Winter Park and the surrounding community admire the hard work and team spirit demonstrated by the 2015 Winter Park Wildcats Special Olympics Unified Basketball team during the 2014-2015 season and commend the team for its many accomplishments, NOW, THEREFORE,

2829

13-03463A-15 20151646

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

3132

33

34

35

36

37

30

That the 2015 Winter Park High School Wildcats Special Olympics Unified Basketball team is congratulated for winning the 2015 Florida High School Athletic Association Championship and recognized for its athletic ability, sportsmanship, and exemplary citizenship and the outstanding accomplishments of both players and coaches.

Page 2 of 2