The Florida Senate BILL ANALYSIS AND FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT

(This document is based on the provisions contained in the legislation as of the latest date listed below.)

	Prepared	d By: The P	rofessional Staff	f of the Committee	on Community A	ffairs
BILL:	SB 1488					
INTRODUCER:	Senator Montford					
SUBJECT:	Aerial Photographs and Nonproperty Ownership Maps					
DATE:	January 29	, 2016	REVISED:			
ANALYST		STAF	DIRECTOR	REFERENCE		ACTION
l. Cochran		Yeatman		CA	Favorable	
2.	_	'	_	AGG		
3.				AP		

I. Summary:

SB 1488 revises the county population thresholds for purposes of identifying the governmental entity responsible for payment of aerial photographs and nonproperty ownership maps. All photographs and maps furnished to a county that meets the population thresholds of a rural community in s. 288.0656(2)(e), F.S., shall be paid for by the Florida Department of Revenue.

II. Present Situation:

Aerial Photography and Nonproperty Ownership Maps

The Florida Department of Revenue (department) coordinates the capture and distribution of orthoimagery^{1,2} of approximately one third of the state each year, according to the provisions of s. 195.022, F.S. Once every 3 years, the department must furnish aerial photographs and nonproperty ownership maps to the property appraisers as necessary to ensure that all real property within the state is listed on the roll.³ The 3 year rotation breaks down as such:

- In the 2014-2015 mapping year, the 15 following counties were photographed: Volusia, Seminole, Orange, Brevard, Indian River, Okeechobee, St. Lucie, Martin, Glades, Palm Beach, Lee, Broward, Collier, Miami-Dade, and Monroe.
- In 2015-2016, the 27 following counties were or will be photographed: Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Lafayette, Suwannee, Dixie, Levy, Gilchrist, Columbia, Union, and Bradford.

¹ Orthoimagery data are typically high resolution aerial images that combine the visual attributes of an aerial photograph with the spatial accuracy of a planimetric map; see United States Geological Survey, *The National Map*, http://nationalmap.gov/ortho.html (last visited January 28, 2016).

² The accepted industry standard is 6 inch resolution photography; see Department of Revenue, *Senate Bill 1488 Legislative Bill Analysis* (January 21, 2016) (on file with the Senate Committee on Community Affairs).

³ Florida Department of Revenue, GIS/Mapping, http://dor.myflorida.com/dor/property/gis/ (last visited January 28, 2016).

BILL: SB 1488 Page 2

• In 2016-2017, the 25 following counties will be photographed: Nassau, Baker, Duval, Clay, St. Johns, Putnam, Flagler, Alachua, Marion, Citrus, Sumter, Lake, Hernando, Pasco, Pinellas, Hillsborough, Polk, Osceola, Manatee, Hardee, Highlands, Sarasota, DeSoto, Charlotte, and Hendry.

• This rotation continues, with 15 counties, 27 counties, and 25 counties as the groupings.⁴

Before 2008, the department provided aerial photography without charge or expense to property appraisers.⁵ In 2008, these costs were shifted to the county property appraisers, except in counties with a population of less than 25,000.⁶ However, between 2009 and 2015, funding for aerial photography in counties with a population less than 50,000 was provided via specific proviso language in the Appropriations Act.⁷

III. Effect of Proposed Changes:

Section 1 amends s. 195.022, F.S., revising the county population thresholds for purposes of identifying the governmental entity responsible for payment of aerial photographs and nonproperty ownership maps. All photographs and maps furnished to a county that meets the population thresholds of a rural community in s. 288.0656(2)(e), F.S., shall be paid for by the department. In counties not meeting those thresholds, the property appraisers bear the expense.

A rural community is defined in s. 288.0656(2)(e), F.S., as:

- A county with a population of 75,000 or fewer;
- A county with a population of 125,000 or fewer which is contiguous to a county with a population of 75,000 or fewer;
- A municipality within a county described above; or
- An unincorporated federal enterprise community or an incorporated rural city with a
 population of 25,000 or fewer and an employment base focused on traditional agricultural or
 resource-based industries, located in a county not defined as rural, which has at least three or
 more of the economic distress factors identified in s. 288.0656(2)(c), F.S., and verified by the
 department.

The following counties are within the definition of a rural community: Liberty, Lafayette, Franklin, Union, Glades, Hamilton, Calhoun, Gulf, Jefferson, Dixie, Gilchrist, Madison, Holmes, Taylor, Washington, Bradford, Baker, Hardee, Wakulla, DeSoto, Okeechobee, Hendry, Levy, Suwannee, Jackson, Gadsden, Walton, Columbia, Putnam, Monroe, Nassau, Highlands, and Flagler.⁸

Section 2 provides an effective date of July 1, 2016.

⁴ Florida Department of Revenue, *3 Year Aerial Photography Schedule*, available at http://dor.myflorida.com/dor/property/gis/pdf/flight_plan.pdf (last visited January 28, 2016).

⁵ Section 195.022, F.S. (2007).

⁶ Chapter 2008-138, s. 2, Laws of Fla. (amending 195.022, F.S., effective July 1, 2008).

⁷ See Chapter 2012-118, s. 6, Laws of Fla. (effective July 1, 2012).

⁸ Office of Economic and Demographic Research, Population and Demographic Data, Florida Estimates of Population available at http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/population-demographics/data/PopulationEstimates2015.pdf (last visited January 29, 2016). All counties listed fall into the "rural community" definition under both the official 2010 Census population and the 2015 estimate.

BILL: SB 1488 Page 3

IV. Constitutional Issues:

A. Municipality/County Mandates Restrictions:

None.

B. Public Records/Open Meetings Issues:

None.

C. Trust Funds Restrictions:

None.

V. Fiscal Impact Statement:

A. Tax/Fee Issues:

None.

B. Private Sector Impact:

None.

C. Government Sector Impact:

Counties that fall into the new population thresholds will benefit fiscally, by not having to pay for the triennial mapping.

The department reports the following in costs:

- A \$545,727 cost for the 2016-2017 fiscal year.
- A \$236,886 cost for the 2017-2018 fiscal year.
- A \$1,346,921 cost for the 2018-2019 fiscal year.
- Starting the cycle again, the cost for the 2019-2020 fiscal year would be \$545,727.9

VI. Technical Deficiencies:

None.

VII. Related Issues:

None.

VIII. Statutes Affected:

This bill substantially amends section 195.022 of the Florida Statutes.

⁹ Department of Revenue, *Senate Bill 1488 Legislative Bill Analysis* (January 21, 2016) (on file with the Senate Committee on Community Affairs).

BILL: SB 1488 Page 4

IX. **Additional Information:**

Committee Substitute – Statement of Changes: (Summarizing differences between the Committee Substitute and the prior version of the bill.) A.

None.

B. Amendments:

None.

This Senate Bill Analysis does not reflect the intent or official position of the bill's introducer or the Florida Senate.