441256

| | LEGISLATIVE ACTION | |
|------------|--------------------|-------|
| Senate | | House |
| Comm: RCS | | |
| 11/18/2015 | | |
| | • | |
| | • | |
| | · | |
| | | |

The Committee on Environmental Preservation and Conservation (Hays) recommended the following:

Senate Amendment (with title amendment)

3 Delete lines 19 - 52

and insert:

1

2

4 5

6

7

8 9

10

- (2) (a) The secretary shall appoint There shall be three deputy secretaries who are to be appointed by and shall serve at the pleasure of the secretary. The secretary may assign any deputy secretary the responsibility to supervise, coordinate, and formulate policy for any division, office, or district.
 - (b) The secretary shall appoint a general counsel who is

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

23

24

2.5

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

39



directly responsible to and serves at the pleasure of the secretary. The general counsel is responsible for all legal matters of the department.

- (c) The secretary may establish divisions as he or she deems necessary to accomplish the mission and goals of the department, including, but not limited to, the following areas of program responsibility: water resources management, regulatory programs, and lands and recreation. The divisions shall be headed by directors, each of whom is to be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the secretary. The Division of State Lands is established within the department, the director of which is to be appointed by the secretary, subject to confirmation by the Governor and Cabinet sitting as the Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund.
- (d) Offices may be established as deemed necessary to promote the efficient and effective operation of the department. The secretary may combine, separate, or delete offices as necessary in consultation with the Executive Office of the Governor. The following special offices shall be are established and headed by managers, each of whom is to be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the secretary:
 - 1. Office of Chief of Staff;
 - 2. Office of General Counsel;
 - 3. Office of Inspector General;
- 35 4. Office of External Affairs;
- 36 5. Office of Legislative Affairs;
- 37 6. Office of Intergovernmental Programs; and
- 38 7. Office of Greenways and Trails.
 - 8. Office of Emergency Response.



| 40 | (e)(b) There shall be six administrative districts involved | | |
|----|--|--|--|
| 41 | in regulatory matters, such as of waste management, water | | |
| 42 | resource management, wetlands, and air resources. The districts $_{\mathcal{T}}$ | | |
| 43 | which shall be | | |
| 44 | | | |
| 45 | ======== T I T L E A M E N D M E N T ========= | | |
| 46 | And the title is amended as follows: | | |
| 47 | Delete lines 4 - 5 | | |
| 48 | and insert: | | |
| 49 | 20.255, F.S.; requiring the secretary of the | | |
| 50 | Department of Environmental Protection to appoint a | | |
| 51 | general counsel; authorizing the secretary to | | |
| 52 | establish | | |
| | | | |