By the Committees on Appropriations; and Environmental Preservation and Conservation; and Senator Hays

576-04233-16 2016400c2

A bill to be entitled

An act relating to the organizational structure of the Department of Environmental Protection; amending s. 20.255, F.S.; deleting a provision requiring certain offices within the department; establishing the Office of the Secretary; authorizing the secretary to establish offices within divisions or the Office of the Secretary as necessary to promote the efficient and effective operation of the department; requiring the appointment of a general counsel; providing an exemption for certain managers and directors from part II of ch. 110, F.S.; establishing the Division of Water Restoration Assistance within the department; providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

- Section 1. Subsections (2) and (3) of section 20.255, Florida Statutes, are amended to read:
- 20.255 Department of Environmental Protection.—There is created a Department of Environmental Protection.
- (2) (a) There shall be three deputy secretaries who are to be appointed by and shall serve at the pleasure of the secretary. The secretary may assign any deputy secretary the responsibility to supervise, coordinate, and formulate policy for any division, office, or district. The following special offices are established and headed by managers, each of whom is to be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the secretary:
 - 1. Office of Chief of Staff;
 - 2. Office of General Counsel;
 - 3. Office of Inspector General;

576-04233-16 2016400c2

- 4. Office of External Affairs;
- 5. Office of Legislative Affairs;
 - 6. Office of Intergovernmental Programs; and
 - 7. Office of Greenways and Trails.
 - 8. Office of Emergency Response.
- (b) The Office of the Secretary is established. The secretary may establish offices within divisions or within the Office of the Secretary to promote the efficient and effective operation of the department.
- (c) The secretary shall appoint a general counsel who is directly responsible to and serves at the pleasure of the secretary. The general counsel is responsible for all legal matters of the department.
- (d) (b) There shall be six administrative districts involved in regulatory matters of waste management, water resource management, wetlands, and air resources, which shall be headed by managers, each of whom is to be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the secretary. Divisions of the department may have one assistant or two deputy division directors, as required to facilitate effective operation.

The <u>directors</u> managers of all divisions, managers of all and offices, specifically named in this section and the <u>managers</u> directors of the six administrative districts are exempt from part II of chapter 110 and are included in the Senior Management Service in accordance with s. 110.205(2)(j).

- (3) The following divisions of the Department of Environmental Protection are established:
 - (a) Division of Administrative Services.

576-04233-16 2016400c2

(b) Division of Air Resource Management.

- (c) Division of Water Resource Management.
- (d) Division of Environmental Assessment and Restoration.
- (e) Division of Waste Management.
- (f) Division of Recreation and Parks.
- (g) Division of State Lands, the director of which is to be appointed by the secretary of the department, subject to confirmation by the Governor and Cabinet sitting as the Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund.
 - (h) Division of Water Restoration Assistance.

In order to ensure statewide and intradepartmental consistency, the department's divisions shall direct the district offices and bureaus on matters of interpretation and applicability of the department's rules and programs.

Section 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2016.

77

61

62

63

64 65

66 67

68 69

70

7172

73

74

75

76