(NP) SR 446

By Senator Flores

I	37-00466-16 2016446
1	Senate Resolution
2	A resolution honoring the United States women's
3	national soccer team for winning the 2015 Fédération
4	Internationale de Football Association Women's World
5	Cup.
6	
7	WHEREAS, on July 5, 2015, in front of millions of viewers
8	worldwide, the United States women's national soccer team
9	defeated reigning World Cup champion Japan 5-2 in Vancouver,
10	Canada, to win its third Fédération Internationale de Football
11	Association (FIFA) Women's World Cup title and end a 16-year
12	drought, and
13	WHEREAS, since the creation of the FIFA Women's World Cup
14	in 1991, the United States women's national soccer team is the
15	most successful team in the tournament's history and the first
16	team to win the tournament three times, and
17	WHEREAS, under the exemplary leadership of head coach Jill
18	Ellis, a Miami-Dade County resident, and her coaching staff, the
19	team created history, scoring four spectacular goals within the
20	first 16 minutes of the match, the earliest a team has ever
21	scored four goals in a single FIFA Women's World Cup match, and
22	surpassed Germany as the top-scoring team in FIFA Women's World
23	Cup history with 112 goals, and
24	WHEREAS, goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris is a native of Satellite
25	Beach and has an impressive soccer résumé that includes three
26	national championships during her days at the University of
27	North Carolina, and
28	WHEREAS, United States team captain Carli Lloyd became the
29	first woman to score a hat trick in a World Cup final, netting

Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 446

	37-00466-16 2016446
30	the Golden Ball award for best player of the tournament and
31	tying for most goals scored in the tournament, and
32	WHEREAS, the team's defense was stalwart, tying a world
33	record 540 minutes of play without conceding a goal and earning
34	Hope Solo the Golden Glove award for best goalkeeper of the
35	tournament, and
36	WHEREAS, United States women's national soccer team players
37	Carli Lloyd, Hope Solo, Julie Johnston, Ali Krieger, Ashlyn
38	Harris, Meghan Klingenberg, Becky Sauerbrunn, Megan Rapinoe,
39	Lauren Holiday, Tobin Heath, Alex Morgan, Sydney Leroux, Lori
40	Chalupny, Christie Rampone, Morgan Brian, Abby Wambach, Amy
41	Rodriquez, Christen Press, Kelley O'Hara, Alyssa Naeher, Whitney
42	Engen, Heather O'Reilly, and Shannon Boxx united to form the
43	2015 FIFA Women's World Cup championship team, NOW, THEREFORE,
44	
45	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:
46	
47	That the players and coaches of the United States women's
48	national soccer team are congratulated on their fantastic and
49	inspirational achievement of winning the 2015 Fédération
50	Internationale de Football Association Women's World Cup and for
51	becoming the only team to win three Women's World Cup finals.

Page 2 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.