Florida Senate - 2017 Bill No. CS for SB 1352

LEGISLATIVE ACTION

Senate Comm: RCS 04/19/2017 House

Senate Amendment Delete lines 146 - 179 and insert: (b) Each administrative law judge shall be appointed for a 4-year term, but during his or her term of office may be removed by the chief administrative law judge for cause. Before the expiration of a judge's term of office, the statewide nominating commission shall review the judge's conduct and determine whether the judge's performance is satisfactory. In determining

The Committee on Judiciary (Young) recommended the following:

10 11

1 2 3

4

5

6

7

8

9

whether a judge's performance is satisfactory, the commission

Florida Senate - 2017 Bill No. CS for SB 1352

655586

12	shall consider the extent to which the judge has met the
13	requirements of this chapter. The commission shall report its
14	finding to the chief administrative law judge no later than 6
15	months before the expiration of the judge's term of office. The
16	chief administrative law judge shall review the commission's
17	report and may reappoint the administrative law judge for an
18	additional 4-year term. If the chief administrative law judge
19	does not reappoint the judge, the chief administrative law judge
20	shall inform the commission. The judge shall remain in office
21	until the chief administrative law judge has appointed a
22	successor judge in accordance with this subsection. If a vacancy
23	occurs during a judge's unexpired term, the commission does not
24	find the judge's performance satisfactory, or the chief
25	administrative law judge does not reappoint the judge, the chief
26	administrative law judge must appoint a successor judge for a 4-
27	year term in accordance with paragraph (a).
28	(c) The chief administrative law judge shall appoint each
29	administrative law judge by June 30, 2018, for a term beginning
30	on July 1, 2018. For the term beginning on July 1, 2018,
31	administrative law judges shall be appointed in the following
32	manner: eight judges appointed to a 1-year term, eight judges
33	appointed to a 2-year term, eight judges appointed to a 3-year
34	term, and nine judges appointed to a 4-year term. Thereafter,
35	each term of office shall be 4 years. Nothing herein limits a
36	chief administrative law judge's ability to reappoint an
37	administrative law judge to additional terms in accordance with
38	this subsection.