By the Committee on Infrastructure and Security; and Senator Book

596-02709-19 2019100c1

4

1

2

3

5 6

7 8

9

10 11

12 13

14 15 16

17 18

20 21

19

22 23

24 25

26

27 28 29

A bill to be entitled An act relating to transportation facility designations; providing honorary designations of certain transportation facilities in specified counties; directing the Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers; providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

- Section 1. Transportation facility designations; Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers.-
- (1) That portion of I-75 (26260000) between mile markers 399 and 404 in Alachua County is designated as the "Sergeant William T. Bishop Memorial Highway."
- (2) That portion of I-10 (27090000) between mile markers 327 and 332 in Baker County is designated as the "Trooper Sherman L. Scott, Jr., Memorial Highway."
- (3) That portion of Babcock Street (70012000) between Malabar Road and Palm Bay Road in Brevard County is designated as the "Trooper Joseph Sawtell, Jr., Memorial Highway."
- (4) That portion of U.S. 1 (70030000) between E. Main Street and Parrish Road in Brevard County is designated as the "Trooper Halley Strickland Memorial Highway."
- (5) That portion of I-95 (86070000) between the N.E. 48th Street overpass and S.W. 10th Street in Broward County is designated as the "Trooper Phillip Black and Corporal Donald Irwin Memorial Highway."
  - (6) That portion of I-75 (03175000) between mile markers

596-02709-19 2019100c1 30 100 and 102 in Collier County is designated as the "Trooper Lindell J. Gibbons Memorial Highway." 31 (7) That portion of I-75 (29180000) between mile markers 32 33 418 and 423 in Columbia County is designated as the "Sergeant 34 George A. Brown, III, Memorial Highway." 35 (8) That portion of U.S. 19 (30010000) between C.R. 351A 36 and S.W. 307th Avenue in Dixie County is designated as the 37 "Patrolman Royston E. Walker Memorial Highway." 38 (9) That portion of U.S. 90 (72010000) between Yellow Water 39 Road and Log Road in Duval County is designated as the "Trooper 40 Robert P. McDermon Memorial Highway." 41 (10) That portion of U.S. 301 (72140000) between U.S. 90 and Summer Field Lane in Duval County is designated as the 42 "Trooper Edwin J. Gasque Memorial Highway." 43 44 (11) That portion of U.S. 29/S.R. 95 (48040000) between 45 Neal Road and Nine Mile Road in Escambia County is designated as 46 the "Trooper Milan D. Hendrix Memorial Highway." 47 (12) The interchange on I-10 (55320023) at U.S. 90/S.R.48 10/Mahan Drive in Leon County is designated as the "Trooper 49 William 'Bill' H. Dyer Memorial Interchange." 50 (13) That portion of U.S. 41 (13121000) between Tallevast 51 Road in Manatee County and the Sarasota County line is 52 designated as the "Sergeant John C. Baxter, Jr., Memorial 53 Highway." 54 (14) That portion of I-75 (36210000) between mile markers 55 340 and 344 in Marion County is designated as the "Trooper 56 Chelsea Richard Memorial Highway." 57 (15) That portion of U.S. 1/S.R. 5 (87020000) between the

Homestead Extension of Florida's Turnpike/S.R. 821 and S.W.

596-02709-19 2019100c1

216th Street in Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Trooper Luther P. Daniel Memorial Highway."

- (16) That portion of the Homestead Extension of Florida's Turnpike/S.R. 821 (87471000) between mile markers 13 and 16 in Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Trooper Alvin V. Kohler Memorial Highway."
- (17) That portion of S.R. 836 (87200000) between N.W. 12th Avenue and N.W. 27th Avenue in Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Trooper Bradley S. Glascock Memorial Highway."
- (18) That portion of S.R. 836 (87200000) between N.W. 42nd Avenue and N.W. 72nd Avenue in Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Trooper Elmer C. Barnett Memorial Highway."
- (19) The interchange at I-195 and S.R. 907/Alton Road in Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Trooper Owen K. Bender Memorial Interchange."
- (20) That portion of U.S. 441 between Landstreet Road and Taft Vineland Road in Orange County is designated as the "Trooper Richard Howell Memorial Highway."
- (21) That portion of S.R. 91/Florida's Turnpike (93470000) between mile markers 100 and 105 in Palm Beach County is designated as the "Troopers Herman T. Morris and Frederick J. Groves, Jr., Memorial Highway."
- (22) That portion of I-4 (16320000) between mile markers 36 and 44 in Polk County is designated as the "Trooper John C. Hagerty Memorial Highway."
- (23) That portion of W. 1st Street (77030000) between French Avenue and S. Mellonville Avenue in Seminole County is designated as the "Patrolman Leroy Bender Memorial Highway."
  - (24) That portion of I-95 (78080000) between mile markers

596-02709-19 2019100c1 88 332 and 327 in St. Johns County is designated as the "Trooper 89 Wilburn A. Kelly Memorial Highway." (25) That portion of U.S. 1 (78010000) between S.R. 207 and 90 91 the Matanzas River in St. Johns County is designated as the 92 "Troopers Merle J. Cook, Robert L. Pruitt, and Cleo L. 93 Tomlinson, Jr., Memorial Highway." 94 (26) That portion of I-75 (12075000) between mile markers 95 130 and 133 in Lee County is designated as the "Lieutenant 96 Daniel Hinton Memorial Highway." 97 (27) That portion of N. Century Boulevard/U.S. 29 98 (48060000) between Cox Road and Sigler Road in Escambia County 99 is designated as the "Maceo Perkins Parkway." (28) Upon completion of construction, the interchange at 100 101 the Homestead Extension of Florida's Turnpike/S.R. 821 and N.W. 102 170th Street in Miami-Dade County is designated as the 103 "Countyline Parkway." 104 (29) The intersection of S.W. 8th Street and S.W. 14th 105 Avenue in Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Manuel A. 106 Gonzalez Plaza." 107 (30) That portion of S.R. AlA between Bridge Road and 108 Fountain Street in Miami-Dade County is designated as the 109 "Robert L. Shevin Way." (31) That portion of S.W. 1st Avenue/S.R. 968 between 21st 110 111 Avenue and 20th Avenue in Miami-Dade County is designated as the 112 "Jorge P. Castano Way." 113 (32) Upon completion of construction, the interchange at I-114 95 and S.R. 200 in Nassau County is designated as the "Fallen Hero Specialist Kelly J. Mixon Interchange." 115

(33) That portion of U.S. 19/S.R. 57 between Capps in

596-02709-19 2019100c1 117 Jefferson County and the northern Jefferson County line is 118 designated as the "Sheriff David C. Hobbs Memorial Highway." 119 (34) The bridge on U.S. Highway 98 over the Econfina River 120 in Taylor County is designated as "SSGT Edward C. Sheffield 121 Memorial Bridge." 122 (35) That portion of the Coast to Coast Connector in 123 Brevard County is designated as the "Kurt Eichin Memorial 124 Trail." 125 (36) The Department of Transportation is directed to erect 126 suitable markers designating the transportation facilities as 127 described in this section.

Section 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2019.