## THE FLORIDA SENATE



## SELECT COMMITTEE ON INDIAN RIVER LAGOON AND LAKE OKEECHOBEE BASIN

**Location** 325 Knott Building

#### Mailing Address

404 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1100 (850) 487-5372

Senator Joe Negron, *Chair* Senator Charlie Dean, *Vice Chair* Senator Bill Montford, *Vice Chair* 

#### Professional Staff:

Pepper Uchino and Jamie DeLoach, Staff Directors Senate's Website: www.flsenate.gov

# <u>Select Committee Workshop to Explore Short-Term Solutions or Alternatives to Reduce or</u> Eliminate Current Releases from Lake Okeechobee

**Date:** Thursday, August 22, 2013 **Time:** 1:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

**Location**: Charles and Rae Kane Center

900 SE Salerno Road Stuart, Florida 34997

#### PARTICIPANT LIST

## **Opening Remarks**

State Senator Joe Negron (R, District 32), Chair United States Congressman Patrick Murphy (D, FL-18) Secretary Herschel Vinyard, Florida Department of Environmental Protection

#### Panel 1

Ernie Barnett, Interim Executive Director, South Florida Water Management District Colonel Alan Dodd, District Commander, Jacksonville District, United States Army Corps of Engineers

#### Panel 2

Tom Van Lent, Ph.D., Senior Scientist, The Everglades Foundation

Brian Lapointe, Ph.D., Research Professor, Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute of Florida Atlantic University

Drew Bartlett, Director, Division of Environmental Research and Restoration,

Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Roland Ottolini, Director, Lee County Division of Natural Resources

## Panel 3

Kevin Henderson, Evergreen Engineering Mark Perry, Executive Director, Florida Oceanographic Society Commissioner Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch, Town of Sewall's Point Eric Draper, Executive Director, Audubon Florida

## Panel 4

Tom MacVicar, President, MacVicar Consulting
Malcolm "Bubba" Wade, Jr. Senior Vice President of Corporate Strategy and Business
Development, United States Sugar Corporation
Fred Fanizzi, General Manager, Quail Creek Plantation
David Hille, Chairman, Cabbage Inc.

## **Additional Invited Elected Officials**

County Commissioner Sarah Heard, Chair, Martin County County Commissioner Tim Zorc, Indian River County County Commissioner Chris Dzadovsky, St. Lucie County Representative Gayle Harrell (R, District 83) Representative Larry Lee (D, District 84) Representative Debbie Mayfield (R, District 54) Representative MaryLynn "ML" Magar (R, District 82) Mayor Kevin Ruane, City of Sanibel

## **Public Testimony**

## **Adjournment**