Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

2010 Florida Statutes

Florida Commission on Tourism; creation; purpose; membership.
F.S. 288.1223

Florida Commission on Tourism; creation; purpose; membership.


There is created within the Office of Tourism, Trade, and Economic Development the Florida Commission on Tourism. The purpose of the commission is to oversee this state’s efforts to increase the positive impact of tourism, including increased employment for state citizens, to all sectors of the economy through effective marketing activities; to continually upgrade the image of Florida as a quality destination; to promote tourism objectives with all geographic, socioeconomic, and community sectors considered equitably; and to judge its efforts by the same standards of accountability and integrity as those used by successful, respected private sector businesses.


The commission shall consist of 17 general tourism-industry-related members appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate, and 15 additional tourism-industry-related members, appointed by the Governor, including 3 representatives from the statewide rental car industry, 5 representatives from tourist-related statewide associations, including those that represent hotels, campgrounds, county destination marketing organizations, restaurants, and attractions, 2 representatives from county destination marketing organizations, 1 representative from the cruise industry, 1 representative from an automobile and travel services membership organization that has at least 2.8 million members in Florida, 1 representative from the airline industry, 1 representative from the youth travel industry, and 1 representative from the space tourism industry, who will each serve for a term of 2 years, the Governor, and 2 additional ex officio members, who will serve for a term of 2 years, including a member of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate and a member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.


When making the 17 general tourism-industry-related appointments to the commission, the Governor shall appoint persons who are residents of the state, recognized tourism leaders, including, but not limited to, representatives of tourist development councils, convention and visitor bureaus, and associations, and chairs of the board, presidents, chief executive officers, chief operating officers, or persons of comparable executive level or influence of leading or otherwise important tourism industries. Consideration shall be given to appointing members who represent those tourist-related lodging, retail, attraction, and transportation industries which contribute significantly to the promotion of Florida as a tourist destination from their private budgets and publicly through their voluntary tourism promotion investment contributions. Minority persons, as defined in s. 288.703, shall be included in the appointments to the commission and to any advisory committee appointed by the commission, so that the commission and advisory committees are broadly representative of the population of Florida. In addition, members shall be appointed in such a manner as to equitably represent all geographic areas of the state, with no fewer than two and no more than four members from any of the following regions:


Region 1, composed of Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington Counties.


Region 2, composed of Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Marion, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, and Union Counties.


Region 3, composed of Brevard, Indian River, Lake, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, St. Lucie, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Counties.


Region 4, composed of Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and Sarasota Counties.


Region 5, composed of Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, and Lee Counties.


Region 6, composed of Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, and Palm Beach Counties.

No more than one member may be an employee of any one company, organization, council, or bureau.


Initially, of the 17 general tourism-industry-related members, the Governor shall appoint 7 members for terms of 4 years, 5 members for terms of 2 years, and 5 members for terms of 1 year. Thereafter, after receiving recommendations from the Florida Commission on Tourism, the Governor shall appoint all members for terms of 4 years. Any vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term by a person possessing the proper qualifications and shall reflect the proper balance of representation described in paragraph (b).


General tourism-industry-related members shall be limited to two 4-year full consecutive terms. This limitation applies to terms begun after June 30, 1996.


The commission shall meet at least quarterly. A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of conducting business.


The Governor shall serve as chair of the commission. The commission shall annually elect one of its tourism-industry-related members as vice chair, who shall preside in the absence of the chair.


The commission may appoint advisory committees, representing each of the six regions named in this section, and any other advisory committees the commission deems appropriate, which may include members from outside the commission to study special problems or issues and advise the commission on those subjects. The commission may also establish an executive committee comprised of nine members recommended by the vice chair and appointed by the chair. The operating procedures of such committees shall be established by the commission.


The members of the commission shall serve without compensation but will be entitled to per diem and travel expenses pursuant to s. 112.061 while in the performance of their duties.


Each member of the commission who is not otherwise required to file financial disclosure pursuant to s. 8, Art. II of the State Constitution or s. 112.3144 shall file disclosure of financial interests pursuant to s. 112.3145.


s. 3, ch. 92-299; s. 223, ch. 95-148; s. 51, ch. 96-320; s. 16, ch. 99-251; s. 43, ch. 2000-158; s. 5, ch. 2000-208; s. 1, ch. 2004-274; s. 1, ch. 2005-113; s. 55, ch. 2008-4.