Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Archives | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

Senator Wright, District 14 — Press Release


June 20, 2018

CONTACT: Lindsey Swindle, 386-316-9033

Senator Hukill Congratulates Class of 2018 Volusia Middle and High School Graduates

Student Leadership Award Recipients

Port Orange —

State Senator Dorothy L. Hukill (R-Port Orange) congratulates the 2018 Student Leadership Award recipients.  Senator Hukill continued the tradition of recognizing outstanding students throughout District 14.  Since 2005, Senator Hukill has presented her Student Leadership Award to graduating 8th and 12th grade students in Volusia County.  Students were recommended by a committee of teachers and administrators based on the student’s grade point average, leadership skills, and outstanding service in their school and community. 

“Every year I am encouraged by the unwavering focus our 8th and 12th graders possess in completing their goals, serving their communities and demonstrating leadership qualities,” said Senator Hukill.  “These students are great representatives of their communities and it is an honor to recognize them and celebrate their accomplishments.”

“Congratulations again to everyone!”  

Senator Hukill’s Student Leadership Award winners received their recognition during their designated school award’s ceremony. Below is a list of the students who received their awards during their respective ceremonies throughout Senate District 14:



Leilany Munoz

DeLand Middle School

Jason Scharlach

DeLand High School

James Larry Parrish, III

Pine Ridge High School

Rhea Khemlani & Jackson Limoge          

Creekside Middle School

Erik Bodien

New Smyrna Beach High School

Brandon Shadeed

Deltona High School

Xavier Romero Ramos

Deltona Middle School

Trinnyce Williams-Heath

Southwestern Middle School

Lyn Panti

Atlantic High School

Rachel Wang

New Smyrna Beach Middle School

Angel Dejesus

Heritage Middle School

Angela Poole


Spruce Creek High School

Deidre Jones

Galaxy Middle School

Kayley Darby

Silver Sands Middle School




























Senator Hukill was elected to the Senate in 2012 and represents Senate District 14, which consists of parts of Brevard and Volusia Counties. Prior to the Senate, Hukill served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2004-2012.