THE FLORIDA SENATE 2018 SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION PASSED

Committee on Transportation

CS/CS/HB 141 — Transportation

by Government Accountability Committee; Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee; and Rep. Harrison and others (CS/SB 1012 by Appropriations Committee and Senators Passidomo and Young)

The bill revises provisions currently related to contracting and negotiation between the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) and local governmental entities for the design, right-of-way acquisition, and construction of legislatively approved turnpike projects. The bill authorizes, but does not require, the FDOT to contract with local entities for the transfer, purchase, sale, acquisition, or other conveyance of the ownership, operation, or maintenance of any turnpike project approved by the Legislature. Local entities are authorized to negotiate and contract with the FDOT for the same purposes.

In addition, the bill exempts law enforcement officers operating an official vehicle while on official law enforcement business from payment of tolls for the use of toll facilities. The bill also extends by one year the FDOT's existing obligation to reimburse Collier County or another local governmental entity for the direct actual costs of operating the fire station at mile marker 63 on Alligator Alley, by interlocal agreement, through no later than June 30, 2019.

Lastly, by October 1, 2018, the bill requires the Miami-Dade County Expressway Authority (MDX) to submit to the Governor information regarding its compliance with an existing provision of law. The MDX is currently required to provide a minimum five-percent reduction in tolls charged for SunPass users of MDX facilities at the time the toll is incurred. Effective October 31, 2018, if the required toll reduction has not taken place, the bill dissolves the existing MDX board and requires a new board to be appointed by the same date, except that the FDOT's district secretary continues as an ex officio voting member of the new board. All new board members must be residents of Miami-Dade County, except for the FDOT's district secretary. Miami-Dade County must appoint five voting members, up to two of which may be elected officials. The Governor must appoint three voting members.

If approved by the Governor, these provisions take effect July 1, 2018.

Vote: Senate 35-2; House 114-0

CS/CS/HB 141 Page: 1