THE FLORIDA SENATE 2021 SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION PASSED

Committee on Environment and Natural Resources

HB 217— Conservation Area Designations

by Reps. Hunschofsky, Overdorf, and others (SB 588 by Senators Book, Ausley, Garcia, Hutson, Mayfield, Simpson, Albritton, Baxley, Bean, Berman, Boyd, Bracy, Bradley, Brandes, Brodeur, Broxson, Burgess, Cruz, Diaz, Farmer, Gainer, Gibson, Gruters, Harrell, Hooper, Jones, Passidomo, Perry, Pizzo, Polsky, Powell, Rodrigues, Rodriguez, Rouson, Stargel, Stewart, Taddeo, Thurston, Torres, and Wright)

The bill designates the Southeast Florida Coral Reef Ecosystem Conservation Area, which consists of sovereignty submerged lands and state waters offshore of Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, and Palm Beach Counties from the St. Lucie Inlet to the northern boundary of the Biscayne National Park, as the "Kristin Jacobs Coral Reef Ecosystem Conservation Area."

The bill directs the Department of Environmental Protection to erect suitable markers designating the conservation area.

If approved by the Governor, these provisions take effect July 1, 2021.

Vote: Senate 40-0; House 119-0

HB 217 Page: 1