THE FLORIDA SENATE 2023 SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION PASSED

Committee on Transportation

CS/CS/HB 21 — Transportation Facility Designations

by Infrastructure Strategies Committee; Transportation and Modals Subcommittee; and Rep. Sirois and others (CS/CS/SB 96 by Fiscal Policy Committee; Appropriations Committee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development; Transportation Committee; and Senator DiCeglie)

The bill creates a number of honorary designations of transportation facilities around the state and directs the Florida Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers for each of the following designations:

- I-275 between mile markers 30 and 31 in Pinellas County as "Deputy Sheriff Michael Hartwick Memorial Highway."
- S.R. 87 between E. Bay Boulevard and Bob Tolbert Road in Santa Rosa County as "Sgt. Maj. Thomas Richard 'Ric' Landreth Memorial Highway."
- Alternate U.S. 19/Bayshore Boulevard between Orange Street and Michigan Boulevard in Pinellas County as "SPC Zachary L. Shannon Memorial Highway."
- S.R. 105/Heckscher Drive between New Berlin Road East and Orahood Lane in Duval County as "Officer Scott Eric Bell Highway."
- S.R. 9A/East Beltway 295 between Gate Parkway and Baymeadows Road in Duval County as "Officer Christopher Michael Kane Highway."
- The bridge on Howell Drive over the Ribault River in Duval County as "Coach Gwendolyn Maxwell Bridge to Ribault."
- Upon completion of construction, the new NASA Causeway Bridge on S.R. 405 over the Indian River in Brevard County as "Dr. Sally Ride Memorial Bridge."
- I-95 between mile markers 380 and 381 in Nassau County as "Corporal James McWhorter Memorial Highway."
- Cortez Boulevard between U.S. 41 and S.R. 50/50A in Hernando County as "Rush Limbaugh Way."
- I-10 between mile markers 222 and 228 in Jefferson County as "Senior Inspector Rita Jane Hall Memorial Highway."
- U.S. 19 between C.R. 361/Beach Road and C.R. 30/Foley Road in Taylor County as "Michael Scott Williams Parkway."
- S.R. 435 between Conroy Road and Vineland Road in Orange County as "Officer Kevin Valencia Memorial Highway."
- S.R. 46 between East Lake Mary Boulevard in Seminole County and the Brevard County line as "Deputy Sheriff Eugene 'Stetson' Gregory Memorial Highway."
- S.R. 70/Okeechobee Road between Ideal Holding Road and C.R. 613/Carlton Road in St. Lucie County as "Kyle Lee Patterson Memorial Way."
- S.R. 518/Eau Gallie Boulevard between Wickham Road and John Rodes Boulevard in Brevard County as "Deputy Sheriff Barbara Ann Pill Memorial Highway."
- S.W. 22nd Avenue between Kirk Street and Tigertail Avenue in Miami-Dade County as "Mama Elsa Street."

- The intersection at S.R. 121 North and C.R. 23D in Baker County as "Deputy Sheriff Morris Fish Memorial Intersection."
- The bridge on S.R. 3 over the Canaveral Barge Canal in Brevard County as "Christa McAuliffe Bridge."
- S.R. 823/South Flamingo Road between Southwest 52nd Street and Southwest 55th Street in Broward County as "Archbishop Edward A. McCarthy High School Way."
- U.S. 98 between Tarpine Drive in Wakulla County and Alligator Drive in Franklin County as "SSgt. Carl Philippe Enis Memorial Highway."
- S.R. 289/North Ninth Avenue between S.R. 196/Bayfront Parkway and U.S. 90/East Cervantes Street in Escambia County as "Lewis Bear, Jr., Memorial Highway."
- Glades Road between Dixie Highway and Federal Highway in the Pearl City
 Neighborhood of Boca Raton in Palm Beach County as "Lois D. Martin Way."

The bill also revises a 1991 designation for "Armand Keith Lovell Memorial Highway" in Marion County to read "Armand and Perry Lovell Memorial Highway."

If approved by the Governor, or allowed to become law without the Governor's signature, these provisions take effect July 1, 2023.

Vote: Senate 36-2; House 87-25

This summary is provided for information only and does not represent the opinion of any Senator, Senate Officer, or Senate Office.