THE FLORIDA SENATE 2024 SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION PASSED

Committee on Transportation

CS/CS/HB 389 — Transportation Facility Designations

by Infrastructure Strategies Committee; Transportation & Modals Subcommittee; and Rep. Roach and others (CS/CS/SB 868 by Fiscal Policy Committee; Appropriations Committee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development; Transportation Committee; and Senators Boyd and Rouson)

The bill creates a number of honorary designations of transportation facilities around the state and directs the Florida Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers for each of the following designations:

- Deputy Sheriff Christopher Taylor Memorial Highway in Charlotte County.
- Army Specialist Nicholas Panipinto Memorial Highway in Manatee County.
- Dylan Roberts Memorial Crosswalk in Alachua County.
- AWF3 Mohammed "Mo" Haitham Memorial Way in Hillsborough and Pinellas
- Deputy Sheriff George Pfeil Memorial Highway in Seminole County.
- Deputy Sheriff Robert Moore Memorial Highway in Seminole County.
- Deputy Sheriff James Cleveland Jacobs Memorial Highway in Seminole County.
- Abe Resnick Drive in Miami-Dade County.
- Pastor Rick Blackwood Street in Miami-Dade County.
- Gus Kopelousos Memorial Highway in Clay County.
- MICCO WAY in Miami-Dade County.
- Major John Leroy Haynes Memorial Highway in Leon and Jefferson Counties.
- Tuskegee Airmen Memorial Highway in 14 North Florida counties.
- Randy Roberts Memorial Highway in Polk County.
- Carol Jenkins Barnett Memorial Highway in Polk County.
- Trooper Zachary Fink Memorial Highway in St. Lucie County.

The bill also redesignates a bridge in St. Lucie County as the E.C. Summerlin Family Bridge.

If approved by the Governor, or allowed to become law without the Governor's signature, these provisions take effect July 1, 2024.

Vote: Senate 34-0; House 115-0