THE FLORIDA SENATE 2025 SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION PASSED

Committee on Transportation

CS/CS/HB 987 — Transportation Facility Designations

by Commerce Committee; Economic Infrastructure Committee; and Reps. Brannan, Nix, and others (CS/SB 1408 by Fiscal Policy Committee and Senators Collins and Martin)

The bill creates a number of honorary designations of transportation facilities and directs the Florida Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers for each of the following designations:

- Heroes Memorial Overpass in Bradford County.
- Sergeant Elio Diaz Memorial Highway in Charlotte County.
- PBSO Motorman Highway in Palm Beach County.
- Staff Sergeant Matthew Sitton Memorial Highway in Pinellas County.
- Sheriff Gary S. Borders Memorial Highway in Lake County.
- Master Deputy Bradley Link Memorial Highway in Lake County.
- Sergeant Karl Strohsal Memorial Highway in Seminole County.
- SPC Daniel J. Agami Bridge in Broward County.
- Deputy William May Memorial Highway in Walton County.
- Manolo Reyes Boulevard in Miami-Dade County.
- Master Patrol Officer Jesse Madsen Memorial Highway in Hillsborough County.
- Geraldine Thompson Way in Orange County.
- Harris Rosen Way in Orange County.
- Harry Frisch Street in Duval County.
- Senator James A. Sebesta Memorial Highway in Hillsborough and Pinellas Counties.
- Congressman Lincoln Diaz-Balart Memorial Highway in Miami-Dade County.
- Jose Wejebe Bridge in Monroe County.
- Celia Cruz Way in Miami-Dade County.
- President Donald J. Trump Boulevard in Palm Beach County.
- Sonia Castro Way in Miami-Dade County.

The bill also revises the length of the previously designated Deputy William Gentry, Jr., Memorial Highway in Highlands County.

If approved by the Governor, or allowed to become law without the Governor's signature, these provisions take effect July 1, 2025.

Vote: Senate 37-0; House 111-0