HOUSE AMENDMENT

Bill No. CS/HB 2013

CHAMBER ACTION Senate House 1 2 3 4 5 ORIGINAL STAMP BELOW 6 7 8 9 10 Representative(s) Boyd, Crady, Villalobos, Bronson, Melvin, 11 Littlefield, Peaden, Stansel, Wiles, K. Smith, Spratt, Minton, 12 13 Kilmer and J. Miller offered the following: 14 Amendment (with title amendment) 15 On page 3, line 18, of the bill 16 17 18 insert: 19 Section 2. Section 26.021, Florida Statutes, is 20 amended to read: 26.021 Judicial circuits; judges.--21 22 (1) The first circuit is composed of Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, and Walton Counties. 23 24 (2) The second circuit is composed of Leon, Gadsden, 25 Jefferson, Wakulla, Liberty, and Franklin Counties. (3) The third circuit is composed of Columbia, Dixie, 26 Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwannee, and Taylor Counties. 27 28 (4) The fourth circuit is composed of Clay, Duval, and 29 Nassau Counties. 30 (5) The fifth circuit is composed of Citrus, Hernando, 31 Lake, Marion, and Sumter Counties. Two of the circuit judges 1 File original & 9 copies hju0004 04/21/99 06:17 pm 02013-0010-672065

Amendment No. 05 (for drafter's use only)

Bill No. CS/HB 2013

02013-0010-672065

Amendment No. 05 (for drafter's use only)

authorized for the fifth circuit shall reside in either 1 2 Citrus, Hernando, or Sumter County, and neither of such two 3 judges shall reside in the same county. 4 (6) The sixth circuit is composed of Pasco and 5 Pinellas Counties. (7) The seventh circuit is composed of Flagler, 6 7 Putnam, St. Johns, and Volusia Counties. One judge shall 8 reside in Flagler County; two judges shall reside in Putnam County; two judges shall reside in St. Johns County; and three 9 10 judges shall reside in Volusia County. There shall be no 11 residency requirement for any other judges in the circuit. 12 (8) The eighth circuit is composed of Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Gilchrist, Levy, and Union Counties. 13 (9) The ninth circuit is composed of Orange and 14 15 Osceola Counties. 16 (10) The tenth circuit is composed of Hardee, 17 Highlands, and Polk Counties. (11)The eleventh circuit is composed of Dade County. 18 19 (12)The twelfth circuit is composed of Manatee, Sarasota, and DeSoto Counties. 20 (13) The thirteenth circuit is composed of 21 22 Hillsborough County. (14) The fourteenth circuit is composed of Bay, 23 24 Calhoun, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, and Washington Counties. 25 (15) The fifteenth circuit is composed of Palm Beach County. 26 27 The sixteenth circuit is composed of Monroe (16) County. One judge in the circuit shall reside in the middle or 28 29 upper Keys. There shall be no residency requirement for any 30 other judge in the circuit. 31 (17)The seventeenth circuit is composed of Broward 2 File original & 9 copies hju0004

04/21/99 06:17 pm

Bill No. CS/HB 2013

Amendment No. 05 (for drafter's use only)

County. 1 2 (18) The eighteenth circuit is composed of Brevard and 3 Seminole Counties. 4 (19) The nineteenth circuit is composed of Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee, and St. Lucie Counties. 5 (20) The twentieth circuit is composed of Charlotte, 6 7 Collier, Glades, Hendry, and Lee Counties. 8 (21) Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (20), the territorial jurisdiction of a circuit court may be expanded as 9 10 provided for in s. 910.03(3). 11 12 The judicial nominating commission of each circuit, in 13 submitting nominations for any vacancy in a judgeship, and the Governor, in filling any vacancy for a judgeship, shall 14 15 consider whether the existing judges within the circuit, together with potential nominees or appointees, reflect the 16 17 geographic distribution of the population within the circuit, the geographic distribution of the caseload within the 18 circuit, the racial and ethnic diversity of the population 19 within the circuit, and the geographic distribution of the 20 racial and ethnic minority population within the circuit. The 21 judicial nominating commission shall give special 22 consideration to applicants who reside in counties other than 23 24 the largest county in the circuit. 25 26 27 And the title is amended as follows: 28 29 On page 1, line 17, 30 31 insert after "actions;": 3 File original & 9 copies hju0004 04/21/99 06:17 pm 02013-0010-672065

Bill No. <u>CS/HB 2013</u>

Amendment No. $\underline{05}$ (for drafter's use only)

1 amending s. 26.021, F.S.; revising language	
2 with respect to the selection of judges for	
3 judicial circuit to provide residency	
4 requirements for judges of such circuit;	
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
4	

File original & 9 copies 04/21/99 hju0004 06:17 pm 02013-0010-672065