Florida House of Representatives - 1999

HR 9083

By Representatives Casey, Chestnut, Wasserman Schultz, Lynn, Boyd, Turnbull, Fiorentino, Crow, Merchant, C. Green, Waters, Detert, Ritchie, Edwards, Brown, Gottlieb, Rayson, Stafford, Sobel, Ryan, Minton, Wilson, Bullard, Cosgrove, (Additional Sponsors on Last Printed Page) 1 House Resolution 2 A resolution commending the Lady Gator Soccer 3 Team at the University of Florida and its 4 coach, Becky Burleigh, for outstanding 5 accomplishments in the Southeastern Conference. 6 7 WHEREAS, the women's soccer program at the University 8 of Florida has existed for only 4 years, and 9 WHEREAS, Coach Becky Burleigh led the Lady Gators to their first Southeastern Conference title in 1996, and 10 11 WHEREAS, the Lady Gator Soccer Team recorded an 12 impressive 26 wins, with only 1 loss, during the 1998 regular 13 season, and WHEREAS, Gator Player Danielle Fotopoulos became the 14 15 N.C.A.A. leader, with 118 career goals and 284 points, and 16 WHEREAS, the University of Florida Lady Gator Soccer 17 Team defeated the twice-defending champion North Carolina Tar Heels by a score of 1 to 0 on December 6, 1998, to become the 18 19 new N.C.A.A. Women's Soccer National Champions, NOW, THEREFORE, 20 21 Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of 22 23 Florida: 24 That the House of Representatives of the State of 25 26 Florida recognizes the incredible accomplishments of the members of the University of Florida Lady Gator Soccer Team 27 and Coach Becky Burleigh and wishes to express its sincere 28 29 appreciation for the pride and honor that the team and its coach have bestowed on the University of Florida and on our 30 31 state.

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

Florida House of Representatives - 1999 529-178A-99

HR 9083

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with the Seal of the House of Representatives of the State of Florida affixed, be presented to the Lady Gator Soccer Team and Coach Becky Burleigh as a tangible token of the sentiments of the House of Representatives of the State of Florida. ADDITIONAL SPONSORS Argenziano, Kilmer, Bense, J. Miller, Murman, L. Miller, Frankel, Jacobs, Betancourt, Dennis, Hill, Sublette, Sanderson, Dockery, Putnam, Bronson, Lawson, Wiles, Heyman, Kosmas, Ritter, Albright, Sembler, Fuller, Villalobos, Posey, Flanagan, Constantine, Alexander, Arnall, Warner, Garcia, Bradley, Roberts, Starks, Valdes and Kelly 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.