38-1840-01

A resolution honoring the University of Miami Hurricane football team.

Senate Resolution No.

WHEREAS, the University of Miami is a premier educational institution, offering excellence in academic, as well as athletic, pursuits, and

 WHEREAS, the University of Miami Hurricane football team boasts an impressive history as the first team in the State of Florida to win an NCAA Division I-A national championship and as the state team having the most NCAA Division I-A national championships, and

WHEREAS, the Hurricane football team defeated Florida State University 27 to 24 on October 7 during the 2000 regular season, and

WHEREAS, the Hurricane football team defeated the University of Florida 37 to 20 in the Nokia Sugar Bowl on January 2 following the 2000 football season, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

That the Florida Senate recognizes the University of Miami Hurricane football team as the champions of the State of Florida for the 2000 football season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with the seal of the Senate affixed, be presented to the University of Miami as a tangible token of the sentiments and congratulations of the Florida Senate.