SENATE STAFF ANALYSIS AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT

(This document is based on the provisions contained in the legislation as of the latest date listed below.)

BILL:		CS/SB 2572				
SPONSOR:		Transportation Committee and Senator Constantine				
SUBJECT:		Central Florida Regional Transportation Authority				
DATE:		April 15, 2003	REVISED:			
	ANALYST		STAFF DIRECTOR	REFERENCE	ACTION	
1. <u>N</u>	McAuliffe		Meyer	TR	Fav/CS	
2				СР		
3.				GO		
4.				ATD		
5				AP		
6.						

I. Summary:

This CS changes the membership of the governing board of the Central Florida Regional Transportation Authority (Authority) from 11 members to 5 members.

This CS substantially amends section 343.63 of the Florida Statutes.

II. Present Situation:

The Central Florida Regional Transportation Authority is the public transportation authority serving Orange, Osceola, and Seminole counties.

Section 343.63, F.S., creates the Authority as an agency of the state and creates a governing board of 11 voting members and 1 nonvoting member. The county commissions of Seminole, Orange, and Osceola Counties each elect a commissioner as that commission's representative and voting member on the governing board to serve for 2 years. The mayors (or their designees) of the cities of Altamonte Springs, Orlando, and Kissimmee serve as voting members of the governing board for 2 years. Five voting members who serve for 4 years are appointed by the Governor with two of the members being residents of Orange County, one member being a resident of Seminole County, one member being a resident of Osceola County, and with one member being a resident of the City of Orlando. The Department of Transportation's district secretary (or designee) serves as a nonvoting member on the governing board.

The members of the governing board are not entitled to compensation, but may be reimbursed for travel expenses actually incurred in their duties.

BILL: CS/SB 2572 Page 2

III. Effect of Proposed Changes:

Section 343.63, F.S., is amended to change the membership of the governing board of the Authority from 11 members to 5 members as follows:

- The chair of the county commissions of Seminole, Orange, and Osceola Counties or their designees will each serve as members for the term of their respective commission chairs.
- One member must be the mayor of the city of Orlando, or a member of the Orlando City Council, as designated by the mayor, and serve for the full extent of his or her term.
- One member will be the FDOT district secretary or his or her designee.

IV. Constitutional Issues:

A. Municipality/County Mandates Restrictions:

None.

B. Public Records/Open Meetings Issues:

None.

C. Trust Funds Restrictions:

None.

V. Economic Impact and Fiscal Note:

A. Tax/Fee Issues:

None.

B. Private Sector Impact:

None.

C. Government Sector Impact:

None.

VI. Technical Deficiencies:

None.

VII. Related Issues:

None.

BILL: CS/SB 2572 Page 3

VIII. Amendments:

None.

This Senate staff analysis does not reflect the intent or official position of the bill's sponsor or the Florida Senate.