By Senator Lawson

6-2115-04

1 Senate Resolution No. ____ 2 A resolution commending the Chipola College Indians 2003-2004 Men's Basketball Team. 3 4 5 WHEREAS, Chipola Junior College was founded in 1947 and 6 became a public educational institution on September 1, 1948, 7 when it joined the state Junior College System, and WHEREAS, in 1961, Chipola Junior College and its men's 8 9 basketball team, "The Indians," hosted the first Florida 10 Junior College Men's Basketball Tournament, and since 1996 has been the exclusive site of the Tournament, and 11 12 WHEREAS, on August 18, 2003, Chipola Junior College became Chipola College by virtue of beginning to offer 4-year 13 Bachelor of Science Degrees in Science and Mathematics, and 14 WHEREAS, from 1961 to 2002-2004, the Indians Men's 15 Basketball Team won sixteen Panhandle Conference 16 17 Championships, and seven State Basketball Championships, and made ten appearances in the National Junior College Athletics 18 19 Association Men's National Basketball Championship Tournament, 20 and 21 WHEREAS, in the course of the 2003-2004 season, the 22 Indians Men's Basketball Team has achieved a win-loss record 23 of 30-3, claimed their seventeenth Panhandle Conference Championship, and on March 6, 2004, won the Florida Community 24 25 College Activities Association/National Junior College Athletics Association Region VIII Men's Basketball Tournament 26 27 for their eighth State Basketball Championship, and 28 WHEREAS, in winning the 2003-2004 Tournament, the Indians have won the State Junior or Community College 29 30 Basketball Championship more than any other Junior or Community College in the State of Florida, and will represent

31

Region VIII in the 2003-2004 National Junior College Athletics 2 Association Men's National Basketball Tournament in 3 Hutchinson, Kansas, opening on March 17, 2004, against the 4 College of Southern Idaho, and 5 WHEREAS, the 2003-2004 Indians Men's Basketball Team is 6 led by Head Coach Chris Jans and Assistant Coaches Greq Heiar 7 and Micah Biers, and is made up of players Kendaris Pelton, 8 Mario Joiner, Traion Davis, Leon Woodstock, Deke Thompson, 9 Kyron Monette, Daniel Dieudonne, Isaiah Jenkins, Shawn Malloy, 10 Je'kel Foster, Brent Crews, Michael Reddick, Vas'shun 11 Newborne, and Chanan Colman, NOW, THEREFORE, 12 13 Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida: 14 That the coaches and members of the Chipola College 15 Indians 2003-2004 Men's Basketball Team are commended for 16 17 their outstanding accomplishments in qualifying to represent 18 Region VIII in the National Junior College Men's Basketball 19 Championship Tournament. 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30