(NP) SR 1204

By Senator Ring

32-02748-08

20081204

1 Senate Resolution 2 A resolution honoring the City of Coral Springs for 3 receiving the 2007 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality 4 Award. 5 6 WHEREAS, chartered in 1963, the City of Coral Springs is a 7 two-time Florida Governor's Sterling Award winner and has 8 achieved national recognition, including Money magazine's Best 9 Places to Live and one of the 100 Best Communities for Young 10 People by America's Promise in 2006 and 2007, and 11 WHEREAS, established in 1987, the Malcolm Baldrige National 12 Quality Award is awarded to manufacturing and service businesses 13 and to education, health care, and nonprofit organizations based 14 on leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, 15 measurement and analysis, human resource focus, process management, and results, and 16 17 WHEREAS, 2007 marks the first year that nonprofit 18 organizations were allowed to compete for the award, and the City 19 of Coral Springs was one of 13 nonprofit organizations to apply for the award and one of only four nonprofit organizations to 20 21 receive a site visit, during which the city underwent a rigorous 22 week-long evaluation by a board of nine examiners, and 23 WHEREAS, the City of Coral Springs has become the first 24 local government in the country to receive the coveted Malcolm 25 Baldrige National Quality Award, which is presented by the United 26 States Department of Commerce, and will be honored in Washington, 27 D.C., in recognition of this accomplishment, NOW, THEREFORE, 28 29 Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 1204

32-02748-08

20081204___

| 30 | |
|----|---|
| 31 | That the City of Coral Springs is commended for receiving |
| 32 | the 2007 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. |
| 33 | BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be |
| 34 | presented to the City of Coral Springs as a tangible token of the |
| 35 | sentiments of the Florida Senate. |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |