(NP) SR 2926

By Senator Justice

16-04760-08

20082926

1 Senate Resolution 2 A resolution honoring the Phi Theta Kappa 2008 All-Florida 3 Academic Team members. 4 5 WHEREAS, April 15, 2008, "Florida Phi Theta Kappa Day," is 6 an appropriate time for the Legislature of the State of Florida 7 to recognize and salute Phi Theta Kappa, the esteemed 8 international honor society for community and junior colleges, 9 and 10 WHEREAS, special commendations should be extended to the 11 outstanding scholars who comprise the 2008 All-Florida Academic 12 Team, a team of highly successful community college students 13 assembled by the Florida Community College System, and 14 WHEREAS, 104 students from Florida's Community College 15 System, one private institution, Florida College, and one independent university, Keiser University, were named to the 2008 16 17 All-Florida Academic Team, and WHEREAS, based on the national ranking of these students in 18 19 the All-USA Academic Team competition sponsored by USA Today and Phi Theta Kappa, which is recognized internationally, nationally, 20 21 and in the State of Florida as the primary community college 22 organization for the recognition of academic achievement, 23 leadership, and service to the community, the following students 24 comprise the 2008 All-Florida Academic Team: 25 Sean Abene, Manatee Community College; Angelica Aguirre, 26 Broward Community College; Kelsey Alderfer, Okaloosa-Walton 27 College; Gail Amalfitano, Indian River Community College; April

28 Ballard, Brevard Community College; Elizabeth Barrero,

29 Hillsborough Community College; Margaret Beck, St. Petersburg

Page 1 of 4

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

16-04760-08

20082926

30 College; Georgia Beliech, Pensacola Junior College; Michele 31 Belisle, St. Petersburg College; Benjamin Bingham, Florida 32 College; Holly Bliss, Pasco-Hernando Community College; Geami 33 Britt, Okaloosa-Walton College; Makeda-Ione Brome, Indian River 34 Community College; Brandon Cerge, Florida Community College at 35 Jacksonville; Emilie Chiasson, Palm Beach Community College; Jean 36 Christy, Pasco-Hernando Community College; Allyson Cipollone, 37 Valencia Community College; Nathan Crock, St. Petersburg College; 38 Barbara Cymring, Miami-Dade College; Von Regan Davis, Brevard 39 Community College; Gretchen Demary, Brevard Community College; 40 Karla Dias, Edison College; Rebecca Dotson, Central Florida 41 Community College; Stephanie Dunne, Santa Fe Community College; 42 Marissa Egipciaco, Seminole Community College; Elissa Feldman, 43 Valencia Community College; Jason Flynn, Lake City Community 44 College; Christina Frascona, Broward Community College; Shakari 45 Gilbert, Tallahassee Community College; Evan Gill, Polk Community 46 College; Teresa Ginther, North Florida Community College; Michael 47 Glidden, Manatee Community College; Patricio Gonzalez, Broward 48 Community College; Samantha Gonzalez, Miami-Dade College; Devon 49 Green, Indian River Community College; Walter Guy, Lake-Sumter 50 Community College; Michael Haddan, Indian River Community 51 College; Amber Hall, Lake-Sumter Community College; Christina 52 Hanlon, Pasco-Hernando Community College; Teresa Hans, Palm Beach 53 Community College; Lauren Hart, Indian River Community College; 54 Brett Harvey, Florida Community College at Jacksonville; Shannon 55 Hatcher, Chipola College; Elizabeth Hebert, Indian River 56 Community College; Daniel Heckman, St. Johns River Community 57 College; James Hernandez, Valencia Community College; Sarah 58 Holland, Seminole Community College; Stephanie Jimenez, Miami-

Page 2 of 4

(NP) SR 2926

16-04760-08

20082926

59 Dade College; Joseph Jimenez, South Florida Community College; 60 Michael Johnson, Miami-Dade College; Ziyad Kadir, Broward 61 Community College; Jamie Kaiser, Gulf Coast Community College; 62 Kristi Kilpatrick, Pensacola Junior College; Justin King, Florida 63 Keys Community College; Ryan Lamarca, Valencia Community College; Brice Latham, Okaloosa-Walton College; Sara Lubus-Centeno, 64 Valencia Community College; Olga Lykhvar, Manatee Community 65 College; Matthew MacKenzie, Central Florida Community College; 66 67 Paola Mariselli, Broward Community College; Lisa Markham, Gulf 68 Coast Community College; Tiffany Mathis, Indian River Community 69 College; Felipe Matos, Miami-Dade College; Sarah Mauldin, Pasco-70 Hernando Community College; Amy McDonald, Florida Community 71 College at Jacksonville; Jennifer Meyers, St. Johns River 72 Community College; Emily Mitchell, Brevard Community College; 73 Alyssa Money, St. Petersburg College; Jean Morrow, Central 74 Florida Community College; Stacy Orr, Keiser University; Mariamo 75 Oyebanjo, Edison College; Jenifer Pariagh, Brevard Community 76 College; Kevin Patel, Tallahassee Community College; Candace Payne, Palm Beach Community College; Anamary Pedrosa, Miami-Dade 77 College; Katherine Profeta, Indian River Community College; 78 79 Milica Radmanovic, Manatee Community College; Kendall Ramsijewan, 80 Broward Community College; Angela Ratzlaff, Keiser University; 81 Collier Rice, Palm Beach Community College; Gabriela Romero, Lake 82 City Community College; Rosanna Salcedo-Saltos, Miami-Dade 83 College; Joy Scholing, St. Petersburg College; Maria Sevilla, 84 Miami-Dade College; Tyler Sheehan, Edison College; Jennifer 85 Smith, Brevard Community College; Erin Smith, North Florida 86 Community College; Odalys Solares, Miami-Dade College; Tommy 87 Thompson, Chipola College; Rebekah Thompson, Indian River

Page 3 of 4

(NP) SR 2926

16-04760-08

107

109

20082926

88 Community College; Chelsea Thorpe, South Florida Community 89 College; Amy Threlkeld, Indian River Community College; Elias 90 Valerio, Lake-Sumter Community College; Chelo van Leeuwaarde, Polk Community College; Ivan Vargas, Miami-Dade College; Maura 91 92 Velasco, Hillsborough Community College; Jodi Verkleir, St. Johns 93 River Community College; Justin Vincent-Tompkins, St. Petersburg College; Stephen Watson, St. Petersburg College; Stefanie Wesch, 94 95 Polk Community College; Melissa Wich, Daytona Beach Community 96 College; Chasya Wiseman, Polk Community College; Wesley 97 Wolfenbarger, Florida Community College at Jacksonville; and Jennifer Wolff, Seminole Community College, and 98

WHEREAS, each member of the 2008 All-Florida Academic Team
has demonstrated impressive intellect and leadership and a
determination to achieve academic excellence, and

WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Florida Academic Team have earned for them and their academic institutions the respect and admiration of the Senate of the State of Florida and of the residents of this state, NOW, THEREFORE,

108 Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

110 That the Florida Senate honors and congratulates Phi Theta 111 Kappa, the Florida Community College System, and the members of 112 the 2008 All-Florida Academic Team and commends the team members 113 for the outstanding competitive spirit and ability evidenced by 114 their accomplishments.

Page 4 of 4

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.