Bill No. HB 7135
Amendment No. 278043
Senate House

1Representative Mayfield offered the following:
3     Amendment
4     Remove lines 1931-1948 and insert:
5     (2)(a)  Each commissioner serving on July 1, 1978, shall be
6permitted to remain in office until the completion of his or her
7current term. Upon the expiration of the term, a successor shall
8be appointed in the manner prescribed by s. 350.031(5), (6), and
9(7) for a 4-year term, except that the terms of the initial
10members appointed under this act shall be as follows:
11     1.  The vacancy created by the present term ending in
12January, 1981, shall be filled by appointment for a 4-year term
13and for 4-year terms thereafter; and
14     2.  The vacancies created by the two present terms ending
15in January, 1979, shall be filled by appointment for a 3-year
16term and for 4-year terms thereafter.
17     (b)  Two additional commissioners shall be appointed in the
18manner prescribed by s. 350.031(5), (6), and (7) for 4-year
19terms beginning the first Tuesday after the first Monday in
20January, 1979, and successors shall be appointed for 4-year
21terms thereafter with each term beginning on January 2 of the
22year the term commences and ending 4 years later on January 1.

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.