(NP) SR 1384

 ${\bf By}$  Senator Constantine

	22-01377A-09 20091384
1	Senate Resolution
2	A resolution congratulating the Seminole High School
3	Seminoles Football Team on its recognition by the
4	Florida High School Athletic Association as the Class
5	6A 2008 State Champions.
6	
7	WHEREAS, Seminole High School is an "A"-ranked school and a
8	charter member of the Florida High School Athletic Association,
9	and
10	WHEREAS, the Seminole High School Seminoles Football Team
11	achieved a 13-2 winning record during the 2008 season, defeating
12	Lake Brantley High School by a score of 34-14 to win the 6A
13	District 2 Championship, defeating DeLand High School by a score
14	of 38-12 to win the Regional Quarterfinals, defeating Spruce
15	Creek High School by a score of 30-13 to win the Regional
16	Semifinals, defeating Apopka High School by a score of 28-7 to
17	win the Regional Championship, and defeating Boone High School
18	by a score of 21-17 to win the State Semifinals, and
19	WHEREAS, in an impressive come-from-behind victory, the
20	Seminole High School Seminoles Football Team defeated the 2-time
21	consecutive 6A Champion Miami Northwestern High School football
22	team by a score of 28-21 to claim the 6A State Championship, and
23	WHEREAS, outstanding skill, sportsmanship, and
24	competitiveness have been characteristics consistently
25	demonstrated by Seminoles teammates Nile Owens, Tyrone Bouie,
26	Andre Debose, Rodney Bryant, Jarkevis Fields, Ryan Sanford,
27	Dyron Dye, Aravious Armstrong, Serderius Bryant, Toby Durham,
28	Deron Thompson, Aaron Palumbo, Jamal Hooks, Ronald Moore, Leon
29	McCray, Chris Mcintosh, Eric Farkas, Kwandarius Karr, Courtland

## Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 1384

22-01377A-09 20091384 30 Amos, Reginald Keitt, Jerod Jones, Chase Boyt, Brandon Kush, 31 Zachary Martin, Adam Mordecai, Donovan Mitchell, Larrett Correa, 32 Jared Lingle, Brandon Stiffey, Taylor McMurrin, Alton Butts, 33 Dionate Collier, Casey Gibson, Jorge Garcia, Kyle Winsor, Michael Delbrey, Michael Keller, Teodoro Morales, Eric Winsor, 34 35 Kadeem Edwards, Charles Thacker, Lessort Tresalus, Charles 36 Green, Otha Jackson, Anthony Wilson, Michael Washington, Eric 37 Williams, Thurman Byrd, Alonzo Gibson, Kerry Wiggins, Vandell 38 Frison, Dustin Lee, and Swanson Cody, and 39 WHEREAS, the Seminoles could not have accomplished this 40 magnificent achievement without the dedicated commitment of Head 41 Coach Mike Cullison and Assistant Coaches Kerry Wiggins, Ron 42 Moore, Sugar Ray Greer, Britt Henderson, Henry Anderson, Kelly 43 Campbell, Sylvester Wynn, Ed Zaremba, Tom Ruby, Joe Hillard, 44 Robert Vite, and Garvin Merritt, and 45 WHEREAS, Andre Debose, Dyron Dye, and Aravious Armstrong 46 have brought further recognition to the Seminoles Team through their selection to the Under Armor All American Squad, and 47 48 WHEREAS, the Seminole High School Seminoles Football Team, 49 in becoming the first team in Seminole County to win a State 50 Football Championship, has demonstrated a spirit of dedication, 51 commitment, and good sportsmanship that stands as an inspiration 52 for all children in the State of Florida who aspire to succeed 53 in academia and in life, NOW, THEREFORE, 54 55 Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida: 56 57 That the Florida Senate commends the Seminole High School 58 Seminoles Football Team, their coaches, their teachers, and

## Page 2 of 3

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

20091384 22-01377A-09 59 their parents for the honor and pride they have brought to this 60 state by their outstanding dedication and performance as 61 athletes. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with the Seal of the Senate affixed, be presented to the Seminole

## 62 63 High School Seminoles Football Team as a tangible token of the 64

sentiments of the Florida Senate. 65