(NP) SR 2836

By Senator Oelrich

.	14-03877-10 20102836
1	Senate Resolution
2	A resolution commending the University of Florida
3	Women's Swimming and Diving Team on its 2010 NCAA
4	National Championship season.
5	
6	WHEREAS, the University of Florida Gators have long been
7	recognized for their tradition of excellence in all
8	intercollegiate sports, and
9	WHEREAS, the University of Florida Women's Swimming and
10	Diving Team has continued this tradition of athletic excellence,
11	achieved and maintained through their hard work, determination,
12	and a team-first attitude, and
13	WHEREAS, the University of Florida women swimmers last won
14	the national title in 1982 at the inaugural women's NCAA
15	championships, and
16	WHEREAS, on March 20, 2010, at the Boilermaker Aquatic
17	Center in West Lafayette, Indiana, the University of Florida
18	Women's Swimming and Diving Team scored 382 points, beating
19	Stanford by 2.5 points in the second-closest win in the history
20	of the competition, and
21	WHEREAS, 12 members of the University of Florida Women's
22	Swimming and Diving Team earned All-American status, exceeding
23	five Florida records and winning two national titles, and
24	WHEREAS, University of Florida Women's Swimming and Diving
25	Team Head Coach Gregg Troy was named the NCAA's 2010 Women's
26	Coach of the Year, NOW, THEREFORE,
27	
28	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:
29	

## Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 2836

	14-03877-10 20102836
30	That the University of Florida Women's Swimming and Diving
31	Team is congratulated for its 2010 NCAA National Championship.
32	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with
33	the Seal of the Senate affixed, be presented to University of
34	Florida Women's Swimming and Diving Team Head Coach Gregg Troy
35	as a tangible token of the sentiments of the Florida Senate.

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.