(NP) SR 660

By Senator Flores

1Senate Resolution2A resolution congratulating the Florida International3University Golden Panthers football team on achieving4its first Sun Belt Conference championship title and5first-ever bowl game win at the Little Caesars Pizza6Bowl.789WHEREAS, since 1965, Florida International University has9been Miami-Dade County's public university, currently serving10more than 41,000 students, and	0
3 University Golden Panthers football team on achieving 4 its first Sun Belt Conference championship title and 5 first-ever bowl game win at the Little Caesars Pizza 6 Bowl. 7 8 WHEREAS, since 1965, Florida International University has 9 been Miami-Dade County's public university, currently serving	
4 its first Sun Belt Conference championship title and 5 first-ever bowl game win at the Little Caesars Pizza 6 Bowl. 7 8 WHEREAS, since 1965, Florida International University has 9 been Miami-Dade County's public university, currently serving	
<pre>5 first-ever bowl game win at the Little Caesars Pizza 6 Bowl. 7 8 WHEREAS, since 1965, Florida International University has 9 been Miami-Dade County's public university, currently serving</pre>	
 Bowl. WHEREAS, since 1965, Florida International University has been Miami-Dade County's public university, currently serving 	
7 8 WHEREAS, since 1965, Florida International University has 9 been Miami-Dade County's public university, currently serving	
8 WHEREAS, since 1965, Florida International University has 9 been Miami-Dade County's public university, currently serving	
9 been Miami-Dade County's public university, currently serving	
10 more than 41,000 students, and	
11 WHEREAS, more than 100,000 FIU graduates live and work in	
12 South Florida, and	
13 WHEREAS, the FIU football program was established in 1999	1
14 and had its inaugural season in 2002 in Division I-AA, and	
15 WHEREAS, the FIU Golden Panthers moved to Division I-A in	
16 2005, joining the Sun Belt Conference, and	
17 WHEREAS, on November 27, 2010, during its eighth season,	
18 the FIU football team for the first time won the Sun Belt	
19 Conference championship title with a 31-24 victory over the	
20 Arkansas State Red Wolves at FIU Stadium, and	
21 WHEREAS, on December 26, 2010, in its first-ever bowl	
22 appearance, the FIU football team played in front of a national	.1
23 audience in the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl at Ford Field in	
24 Detroit, Michigan, and	
25 WHEREAS, FIU won the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl with a 34-	32
26 victory against the University of Toledo, and	
27 WHEREAS, FIU wide receiver Eugene "T.Y." Hilton was named	L
28 the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl Most Valuable Player, after he	
29 posted three catches for 32 yards and a touchdown and an 89-ya	rd
l	

Page 1 of 4

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

38-00878-11 201160_ kickoff return for a touchdown and was instrumental on a 4thand-17 conversion that eventually set up the game-winning field goal, and WHEREAS, kicker Jack Griffin connected on a 34-yard field goal as time expired to clinch the victory for the FIU Golden Panthers, and WHEREAS, FIU football team members Marquis Rolle, Willis Wright, Junior Mertile, Larvez Mars, Eugene "T.Y." Hilton, Wayne

37 Wright, Junior Mertile, Larvez Mars, Eugene "T.Y." Hilton, Wayne Times, Jeremiah Harden, Solomon Smith, Anthony Gaitor, Khambrel 38 39 McGee, Kedrick Rhodes, Glenn Coleman, Ashlyn Parker, Jake 40 Medlock, Wesley Carroll, Toronto Smith, Wayne Younger, Colt 41 Anderson, Franklin Brown, Dudley LaPorte, Kreq Brown, Randy 42 Williams, Chuck Grace, Markeith Russell, Terrance Taylor, 43 Emmanuel Souarin, Jonathan Cyprien, Darian Mallary, Jose 44 Cheeseborough , Darriet Perry, Dezariah Johnson, Jonathan 45 Faucher, Jarvis Wilson, Justin Halley, Cain Elliot, Zach Schaubaut, Robert Boswell, Winston Fraser, Trenard Turner, 46 47 Brandon Bennett, Jarrell McGee, Derrick Jones, Jr., Jack 48 Griffin, Sam Miller, Josh Brisk, Kenneth Dillard, Torrence Seymour, Caleb Vincent, Antwoine Bell, Jeremy Jermin, Aaron 49 50 Davis, Michael Davies, Sam Gervais, Kasey Smith, Junior Delpe, 51 Dylan Lynch, David Delsoin, Anton Graham, Nick Thorstenson, 52 Giancarlo Revilla, Rupert Bryan, Jr., Gregory Hickman, Michael Cal, Dereck Wimberly, Jr., Kenneth White, Donald Senat, 53 54 Christopher Edwards, Curtis Bryant, Chris Nasiff, Mitch 55 MacClugage, David Istanich, Kevin Van Kirk, Austin Tottle, 56 Caylin Hauptmann, Ceedrick Davis, Stephen Bailey, Chris Cawthon, 57 Andre Pound, Brad Serini, Cedric Mack, James Wiggins, Ty 58 Frierson, Jairus Williams, Greg Ellingson, Ariel Martinez,

Page 2 of 4

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 660

(NP) SR 660

	38-00878-11 2011660
59	 Michael Curry, Mitch Wozniak, Joey Harris, Mike Jean-Louis,
60	Jacob Younger, Rockey Vann, Jordan White, Paul Crawford, Andrew
61	Mattox, James Jones, Joshua Forney, Tourek Williams, Jerrico
62	Lee, and Isame Faciane, contributed extraordinary performances
63	throughout the regular season and the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl,
64	and
65	WHEREAS, although the FIU football team lost Number 19,
66	Kendall Berry, in March 2010 in a tragic incident that caused
67	his untimely death, his spirit was very much present with the
68	team throughout the season, and
69	WHEREAS, FIU Head Coach Mario Cristobal, who provided
70	strong, wise leadership and instilled a solid work ethic in the
71	football team, was named the Sun Belt Conference Coach of the
72	Year, and
73	WHEREAS, Coach Cristobal has been commended by the National
74	Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) for "the improved
75	academic performance of the football team since the arrival of
76	(Coach Cristobal) in December 2006," the team's 74-point
77	increase in the all-important Academic Progress Rate, and
78	WHEREAS, the FIU coaching and support staff, which includes
79	Athletic Director Pete Garcia, Defensive Coordinator Geoff
80	Collins, Offensive Coordinator Scott Satterfield, Cedric
81	Calhoun, Greg Laffere, Alex Mirabal, Juan Navarro, Frank Ponce,
82	Jeff Popovich, Apollo Wright, Phil Ockinga, Roderick Moore,
83	Dennis Smith, Tony Egues, Dan Hernandez, Jared Brookman, and
84	Andrew Green, exhibited exemplary leadership and guidance to the
85	team, NOW, THEREFORE,
86	
87	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

Page 3 of 4

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 660

	38-00878-11 2011660
88	
89	That the Florida Senate congratulates the FIU football team
90	for its first-ever bowl game victory in the 2010 Little Caesars
91	Pizza Bowl and for its outstanding performance during the 2010
92	season, which included the Sun Belt Conference championship.
93	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Florida Senate recognizes
94	and praises the achievements of the FIU Golden Panthers football
95	players, coaches, and staff, whose hard work, dedication, and
96	resiliency proved instrumental throughout the season.
97	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Florida Senate commends the
98	entire FIU community of students, alumni, faculty, staff,
99	administrators, friends, and loyal fans in South Florida and
100	beyond for its spirit and dedication.

Page 4 of 4

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.