House Resolution

A resolution honoring and congratulating the Florida International University Golden Panthers Football Team on its many accomplishments during the 2010-2011 season.

WHEREAS, since its founding in 1965, Florida International University has been Miami-Dade County's public university, and today enrolls over 44,000 students and has more than 100,000 graduates living and working in South Florida, and

WHEREAS, it was not until 2000 that Florida International University established a football program and not until 2002 that the team competed in its first season, and

WHEREAS, in 2005, Florida International University joined the Sun Belt Conference and its football team ascended to college football's National Collegiate Athletic Association Football Bowl Subdivision, and

WHEREAS, on November 27, 2010, the Florida International University Golden Panthers Football Team clinched its first Sun Belt Conference championship title, with a 31-24 victory over the Arkansas State University Red Wolves at FIU Stadium, earning the program its first bowl berth, and

WHEREAS, on December 26, 2010, at the 2010 Little Caesars Pizza Bowl at Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan, the Golden Panthers, led by the game's Most Valuable Player, Eugene "T.Y." Hilton, defeated the University of Toledo Rockets by a score of 34-32, providing the Golden Panthers football program with its first bowl victory, and

28 WHEREAS, outstanding skill, sportsmanship, and 29 competitiveness have been characteristics consistently 30 demonstrated by Golden Panthers Marquis Rolle, Willis Wright, Junior Mertile, Larvez Mars, Eugene "T.Y." Hilton, Wayne Times, 31 32 Jeremiah Harden, Solomon Smith, Anthony Gaitor, Khambrel McGee, 33 Kedrick Rhodes, Glenn Coleman, Ashlyn Parker, Jake Medlock, 34 Wesley Carroll, Toronto Smith, Wayne Younger, Colt Anderson, Franklin Brown, Dudley LaPorte, Kreg Brown, Randy Williams, 35 Chuck Grace, Markeith Russell, Terrance Taylor, Emmanuel 36 37 Souarin, Jonathan Cyprien, Darian Mallary, Jose Cheeseborough, 38 Darriet Perry, Dezariah Johnson, Jonathan Faucher, Jarvis 39 Wilson, Justin Halley, Cain Elliot, Zach Schaubaut, Robert 40 Boswell, Winston Fraser, Trenard Turner, Brandon Bennett, 41 Jarrell McGee, Derrick Jones, Jr., Jack Griffin, Sam Miller, 42 Josh Brisk, Kenneth Dillard, Torrence Seymour, Caleb Vincent, 43 Antwoine Bell, Jeremy Jermin, Aaron Davis, Michael Davies, Sam Gervais, Kasey Smith, Junior Delpe, Dylan Lynch, David Delsoin, 44 Anton Graham, Nick Thorstenson, Giancarlo Revilla, Rupert Bryan, 45 46 Jr., Gregory Hickman, Michael Cal, Dereck Wimberly, Jr., Kenneth White, Donald Senat, Christopher Edwards, Curtis Bryant, Chris 47 48 Nasiff, Mitch MacClugage, David Istanich, Kevin Van Kirk, Austin Tottle, Caylin Hauptmann, Ceedrick Davis, Stephen Bailey, Chris 49 50 Cawthon, Andre Pound, Brad Serini, Cedric Mack, James Wiggins, 51 Jason "Ty" Frierson, Jairus Williams, Greg Ellingson, Ariel 52 Martinez, Michael Curry, Mitch Wozniak, Joey Harris, Mike Jean-53 Louis, Jacob Younger, Rockey Vann, Jordan White, Paul Crawford, 54 Andrew Mattox, James Jones, Joshua Forney, Tourek Williams, 55 Jerrico Lee, Isame Faciane, Chris Schirripa, Julio Moraga,

Croswell Paige, Jason Fitch, Thatcher Starling, and Jonathan Jackson, and

WHEREAS, head coach, and 2010 Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year, Mario Cristobal has been recognized by the National Collegiate Athletic Association for the program's 74-point increase in the all-important Academic Progress Rate for "the improved academic performance of the football team since the arrival of (Coach Cristobal) in December 2006," and

WHEREAS, the Golden Panthers' coaching and support staff, including Athletic Director Pete Garcia, Defensive Coordinator Geoff Collins, Offensive Coordinator Scott Satterfield, Cedric Calhoun, Greg Laffere, Alex Mirabal, Juan Navarro, Frank Ponce, Jeff Popovich, Apollo Wright, Phil Ockinga, Roderick Moore, Dennis Smith, Tony Egues, Dan Hernandez, Jared Brookman, and Andrew Green, exhibited exemplary leadership and guidance to the team throughout the season, and

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the Florida
International University Golden Panthers Football Team is
applauded for the numerous accomplishments of its players,
coaches, and staff, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

That the Florida House of Representatives honors the 2010-2011 Florida International University Golden Panthers Football Team for their many accomplishments, especially for having earned the university's first Sun Belt Conference championship

title in football and its first bowl berth and first bowl victory.

84

85

86

87

88

8990

91

92

93

94

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Florida House of Representatives commends the entire Florida International University community of students, alumni, faculty, staff, administrators, friends, and loyal fans for their spirit and dedication.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to 2010-2011 Florida International University Golden Panthers Football Team as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.