HR 9119 2011

House Resolution

A resolution honoring the 2010-2011 Pensacola State College Lady Pirates Women's Basketball Team.

WHEREAS, riding the wave of a phenomenal undefeated season record of 29 consecutive regular season wins, the Pensacola State College Lady Pirates forged ahead to win the Florida Community College Activities Association State Championship, their first state championship in 26 years, earning the Lady Pirates their first trip to the National Junior College Athletic Association National Championship since 1985, and

WHEREAS, under Head Coach Chanda Rigby, 2010-2011 FCCAA All-Panhandle Conference Women's Basketball Coach of the Year and FCSAA All-Tournament Women's Basketball Coach of the Year; Assistant Coaches Kayla Ard and Latoya Thomas; Athletic Director Bill Hamilton; and President Ed Meadows, the Lady Pirates completed an amazing season record of 35 wins and only 1 loss, and

WHEREAS, the Pensacola State College Lady Pirates have accumulated numerous team and individual honors, including representing the State of Florida with their participation in the National Junior College Athletic Association National Championship with a tournament record of 3 wins and 1 loss, and

WHEREAS, with exceptional coaching comes extraordinary players as displayed by Lady Pirates team members Brandy Broome, Meghan Perkins, Jessica Merritt, Ashley Olvera, Natalie Burke, Tawanna Lee, Najat Ouardad, Patricia Bright, Darnisha Hamilton,

HR 9119 2011

Jenisha Jackson, and Karneshia Garrett, whose outstanding athletic teamwork exemplifies superior sportsmanship, and

WHEREAS, the Lady Pirates individual and team accomplishments are vast and include awards to Jessica Merritt, All-American and All-State Player and All-Panhandle Conference and Florida State Tournament Most Valuable Player; Meghan Perkins, All-American and All-State Player and Florida State College Athletic Association Player of the Year; and an All-Panhandle Conference Team comprised of Lady Pirates players Karneshia Garrett, Najat Ouardad, Meghan Perkins, Jessica Merritt, Brandy Broome, Tawanna Lee, Ashley Olvera, and Darnisha Hamilton, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

That it is with great pride that the 2010-2011 Pensacola State College Lady Pirates Women's Basketball Team is applauded for the numerous accomplishments of its players and coaches.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to each team member and coach of the 2010-2011 Pensacola State College Lady Pirates Women's Basketball Team as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.