By Senator Smith

31-01772A-14 20141520

Senate Resolution

A resolution recognizing the outstanding play of the Florida State University Seminoles football team during the 2013 season and postseason championship games and congratulating Head Coach Jimbo Fisher, his coaching staff, and the student athletes who captured the 2014 Bowl Championship Series (BCS) National Championship after a remarkable undefeated season.

WHEREAS, having completed the 2012 season with a 12-2 record, and with 11 players selected in the 2013 National Football League draft, the Florida State University Seminoles football team, led by Head Coach Jimbo Fisher, began the 2013 season ranked 11th in the Associated Press preseason poll, and

WHEREAS, following their 37-7 defeat of the University of Florida Gators to end the 2013 regular season with a flawless record of 12-0, the Seminoles defeated the then 20th-ranked Duke University Blue Devils 45-7 in the Atlantic Coast Conference Championship game on December 7, 2013, giving the Seminoles their 14th Atlantic Coast Conference Championship, and

WHEREAS, on January 6, 2014, under Coach Fisher and his coaching staff and Director of Athletics Stan Wilcox, the top-ranked Seminoles earned a 34-31 victory over second-ranked Auburn University in the 2014 Vizio Bowl Championship Series (BCS) National Championship Game in Pasadena, California, and

WHEREAS, together with the 1950 and 1999 Seminoles football teams that concluded their seasons with undefeated records, the 2013 Florida State Seminoles' 14-0 record marks the third perfect season in school history, and

31-01772A-14 20141520

WHEREAS, outscoring their opponents by a total of 723 to 170 points, the Seminoles established a single-season football bowl subdivision scoring record, surpassing the previous high of 716 points set by the Oklahoma Sooners in 2008, and

WHEREAS, several Seminoles players were recognized for their individual performances, including kicker Roberto Aguayo, who received the Lou Groza Award; center Bryan Stork, who was awarded the Rimington Trophy; and quarterback Jameis Winston, who received the Davey O'Brien Award and the Heisman Memorial Trophy and was named the Walter Camp Player of the Year and the Associated Press Player of the Year, and

WHEREAS, following in the footsteps of legendary Seminoles before them, cornerback Lamarcus Joyner, center Bryan Stork, and quarterback Jameis Winston were named consensus All-Americans, and

WHEREAS, with the 2014 BCS National Championship win, the Seminoles earned their third national football title, having claimed national championships in both 1993 and 1999, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

That the Florida Senate recognizes the outstanding play of the Florida State University Seminoles football team during the 2013 season and postseason championship games and congratulates Head Coach Jimbo Fisher, his coaching staff, and the student athletes who captured the 2014 BCS National Championship after a remarkable undefeated season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be

31-01772A-14 20141520 59 presented to Florida State University Interim President Garnett Stokes, Director of Athletics Stan Wilcox, and Head Coach Jimbo 60 Fisher, as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed in this 61 resolution. 62