Florida Senate - 2015                            (NP)    SR 1606
       By Senator Thompson
       12-01740-15                                           20151606__
    1                          Senate Resolution                        
    2         A resolution recognizing and congratulating the
    3         Florida State University Seminoles women’s soccer team
    4         for winning the 2014 National Championship.
    6         WHEREAS, having completed the 2014 season with a 24-1-1
    7  record and having set a school record for most wins and fewest
    8  losses in a season, the Florida State University women’s soccer
    9  team, led by Head Coach Mark Krikorian, gave the Seminoles their
   10  first national championship, and
   11         WHEREAS, the Seminoles outscored the competition 70 to 9
   12  during the year, setting a school record for the fewest goals
   13  allowed in a season, including 19 shutouts, and
   14         WHEREAS, the Seminoles defeated the University of Virginia
   15  three times, including the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC)
   16  Championship and National Championship games, shutting down the
   17  nation’s best scoring team without a goal in all three contests,
   18  and
   19         WHEREAS, the ACC Championship title was the Seminoles’
   20  second consecutive ACC title, and their third ACC title in the
   21  last 4 years, and
   22         WHEREAS, Seminoles Head Coach Mark Krikorian made history
   23  with the title win, becoming the second coach to win a national
   24  title in two divisions and the first coach to do so at two
   25  schools, and was named the National Coach of the Year by the
   26  National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), and
   27         WHEREAS, the Seminoles’ Mike Bristol was named the Glenn
   28  “Mooch” Myernick National Women’s Assistant Coach of the Year by
   29  the NSCAA, and
   30         WHEREAS, Dagny Brynjarsdottir was named the ACC Offensive
   31  Player of the Year, the ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and the
   32  ACC Tournament MVP; Kristin Grubka was named the ACC Defensive
   33  Player of the Year; and three Seminoles, Brynjarsdottir, Grubka,
   34  and Cheyna Williams, were named to the NSCAA All-America team,
   37  Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:
   39         That we recognize and congratulate the Florida State
   40  University Seminoles women’s soccer team for winning the 2014
   41  National Championship.
   42         BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with
   43  the Seal of the Senate affixed, be presented to Florida State
   44  University President John Thrasher, Director of Athletics Stan
   45  Wilcox, Head Coach Mark Krikorian, and members of the Seminoles
   46  women’s soccer team as a tangible token of the sentiments of the
   47  Florida Senate.