By Senator Thompson

	12-01740-15 20151606
1	Senate Resolution
2	A resolution recognizing and congratulating the
3	Florida State University Seminoles women's soccer team
4	for winning the 2014 National Championship.
5	
6	WHEREAS, having completed the 2014 season with a 24-1-1
7	record and having set a school record for most wins and fewest
8	losses in a season, the Florida State University women's soccer
9	team, led by Head Coach Mark Krikorian, gave the Seminoles their
10	first national championship, and
11	WHEREAS, the Seminoles outscored the competition 70 to 9
12	during the year, setting a school record for the fewest goals
13	allowed in a season, including 19 shutouts, and
14	WHEREAS, the Seminoles defeated the University of Virginia
15	three times, including the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC)
16	Championship and National Championship games, shutting down the
17	nation's best scoring team without a goal in all three contests,
18	and
19	WHEREAS, the ACC Championship title was the Seminoles'
20	second consecutive ACC title, and their third ACC title in the
21	last 4 years, and
22	WHEREAS, Seminoles Head Coach Mark Krikorian made history
23	with the title win, becoming the second coach to win a national
24	title in two divisions and the first coach to do so at two
25	schools, and was named the National Coach of the Year by the
26	National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), and
27	WHEREAS, the Seminoles' Mike Bristol was named the Glenn
28	"Mooch" Myernick National Women's Assistant Coach of the Year by
29	the NSCAA, and

Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 1606

	12-01740-15 20151606
30	WHEREAS, Dagny Brynjarsdottir was named the ACC Offensive
31	Player of the Year, the ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and the
32	ACC Tournament MVP; Kristin Grubka was named the ACC Defensive
33	Player of the Year; and three Seminoles, Brynjarsdottir, Grubka,
34	and Cheyna Williams, were named to the NSCAA All-America team,
35	NOW, THEREFORE,
36	
37	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:
38	
39	That we recognize and congratulate the Florida State
40	University Seminoles women's soccer team for winning the 2014
41	National Championship.
42	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with
43	the Seal of the Senate affixed, be presented to Florida State
44	University President John Thrasher, Director of Athletics Stan
45	Wilcox, Head Coach Mark Krikorian, and members of the Seminoles
46	women's soccer team as a tangible token of the sentiments of the
47	Florida Senate.

Page 2 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.