(NP) SR 14-A

By Senator Bradley

	7-00059B-15A 201514A
1	Senate Resolution
2	A resolution recognizing the outstanding achievement
3	of the University of Florida softball team in winning
4	the 2015 Women's College World Series national
5	championship title.
6	
7	WHEREAS, the University of Florida softball team on June 3,
8	2015, defeated the University of Michigan Wolverines to claim
9	the Women's College World Series national championship title in
10	Oklahoma City, and
11	WHEREAS, the University of Florida softball team is just
12	the third program in National Collegiate Athletic Association
13	(NCAA) softball history to win back-to-back national titles, as
14	the Gators downed the Wolverines in Game 1 and Game 3 of the
15	Women's College World Series by scores of 3-2 and 4-1,
16	respectively, and
17	WHEREAS, the University of Florida softball team holds an
18	all-time 69-33 record in the NCAA tournament, and
19	WHEREAS, the University of Florida softball team finished
20	the season by going 28-3 since April 1, 2015, a stretch that
21	includes 19 victories over ranked teams and 11 nonconference
22	wins, and
23	WHEREAS, the back-to-back NCAA titles make the University
24	of Florida the first in the Southeastern Conference with two
25	softball national championships, and
26	WHEREAS, the win is the University of Florida's 35th
27	national title, and
28	WHEREAS, University of Florida softball team pitcher Lauren
29	Haeger was named the Women's College World Series Championship

Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 14-A

	7-00059B-15A 201514A
30	Most Outstanding Player, and
31	WHEREAS, with her victory in the circle, Lauren Haeger
32	finished her collegiate career with 73 wins and 71 home runs,
33	making her the only player in Division I softball or baseball or
34	Major League Baseball history other than Babe Ruth to reach the
35	70-70 plateau, NOW, THEREFORE,
36	
37	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:
38	
39	That the outstanding achievement of the University of
40	Florida softball team in winning the 2015 Women's College World
41	Series national championship title is recognized.

Page 2 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.