

LEGISLATIVE ACTION

Senate Comm: RCS 03/01/2016 House

The Committee on Appropriations (Galvano) recommended the following:

Senate Amendment (with title amendment)

Between lines 494 and 495

insert:

Section 17. Paragraphs (a) and (b) of subsection (2) of section 343.92, Florida Statutes, are amended to read:

343.92 Tampa Bay Area Regional Transportation Authority.-(2) The governing board of the authority shall consist of<u>15 voting</u> 16 members.

10

1

2 3

4

5

6

7

8

9

(a) There shall be one nonvoting, ex officio member of the

Florida Senate - 2016 Bill No. PCS (380674) for CS for SB 1392



11 board who shall be appointed by The secretary of the department 12 shall appoint two advisors to the board but who must be the 13 district secretary for <u>each</u> one of the department districts 14 within the seven-county area of the authority, at the discretion 15 of the secretary of the department.

(b) <u>The There shall be</u> 15 voting members of the board <u>shall</u> <u>be</u> as follows:

18 1. The county commissions of Citrus, Hernando, 19 Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas, Manatee, and Sarasota Counties 20 shall each appoint one elected official to the board. Members 21 appointed under this subparagraph shall serve 2-year terms with 22 not more than three consecutive terms being served by any 23 person. If a member under this subparagraph leaves elected 24 office, a vacancy exists on the board to be filled as provided in this subparagraph. 25

26 2. The West Central Florida M.P.O. Chairs Coordinating 27 Committee shall appoint one member to the board who must be a 28 chair of one of the six metropolitan planning organizations in 29 the region. The member appointed under this subparagraph shall 30 serve a 2-year term with not more than three consecutive terms 31 being served by any person.

32 3.a. Two members of the board shall be the mayor, or the 33 mayor's designee, of the largest municipality within the service 34 area of each of the following independent transit agencies or 35 their legislatively created successor agencies: Pinellas 36 Suncoast Transit Authority and Hillsborough Area Regional 37 Transit Authority. The largest municipality is that municipality 38 with the largest population as determined by the most recent United States Decennial Census. 39

16 17



40 b. Should a mayor choose not to serve, his or her designee must be an elected official selected by the mayor from that 41 42 largest municipality's city council or city commission. A mayor 43 or his or her designee shall serve a 2-year term with not more than three consecutive terms being served by any person. 44

c. A designee's term ends if the mayor leaves office for any reason. If a designee leaves elected office on the city council or commission, a vacancy exists on the board to be filled by the mayor of that municipality as provided in subsubparagraph a.

d. A mayor who has served three consecutive terms on the board must designate an elected official from that largest municipality's city council or city commission to serve on the board for at least one term.

54 4.a. One membership on the board shall rotate every 2 years 55 between the mayor, or his or her designee, of the largest 56 municipality within Manatee County and the mayor, or his or her 57 designee, of the largest municipality within Sarasota County. 58 The mayor, or his or her designee, from the largest municipality 59 within Manatee County shall serve the first 2-year term. The 60 largest municipality is that municipality with the largest 61 population as determined by the most recent United States 62 Decennial Census.

b. Should a mayor choose not to serve, his or her designee must be an elected official selected by the mayor from that municipality's city council or city commission.

5. The Governor shall appoint to the board four business 67 representatives, each of whom must reside in one of the seven counties governed by the authority, none of whom may be elected

45

46 47

48

49

50

51

52

53

63

64

65 66

68

576-03906-16

Florida Senate - 2016 Bill No. PCS (380674) for CS for SB 1392



| 69 | officials, and at least one but not more than two of whom shall |
|----|---|
| 70 | represent counties within the federally designated Tampa Bay |
| 71 | Transportation Management Area. Members appointed by the |
| 72 | Governor shall serve 3-year terms with not more than two |
| 73 | consecutive terms being served by any person. |
| 74 | Section 18. Paragraphs (e) and (f) of subsection (3) of |
| 75 | section 343.922, Florida Statutes, are amended, and paragraph |
| 76 | (g) is added to that subsection, to read: |
| 77 | 343.922 Powers and duties |
| 78 | (3) |
| 79 | (e) The authority shall present the original master plan |
| 80 | and updates to the governing bodies of the counties within the |
| 81 | seven-county region, to the Tampa Bay Area Regional |
| 82 | Transportation Authority (TBARTA) Metropolitan Planning |
| 83 | Organization West Central Florida M.P.O. Chairs Coordinating |
| 84 | Committee, and to the legislative delegation members |
| 85 | representing those counties within 90 days after adoption. |
| 86 | (f) The authority shall coordinate plans and projects with |
| 87 | the TBARTA Metropolitan Planning Organization West Central |
| 88 | Florida M.P.O. Chairs Coordinating Committee, to the extent |
| 89 | practicable, and participate in the regional M.P.O. planning |
| 90 | process to ensure regional comprehension of the authority's |
| 91 | mission, goals, and objectives. |
| 92 | (g) The authority shall provide administrative support and |
| 93 | direction to the TBARTA Metropolitan Planning Organization |
| 94 | Chairs Coordinating Committee as provided in s. 339.175(6)(i). |
| 95 | |
| 96 | ========== T I T L E A M E N D M E N T ================ |
| 97 | And the title is amended as follows: |
| | |

576-03906-16

194482

| 98 | Between lines 79 and 80 |
|-----|--|
| 99 | insert: |
| 100 | amending s. 343.92, F.S.; increasing the members on |
| 101 | the governing board of the Tampa Bay Area Regional |
| 102 | Transportation Authority; requiring the secretary of |
| 103 | the department to appoint two advisors to the board |
| 104 | subject to certain requirements, rather than |
| 105 | appointing one nonvoting, ex officio member of the |
| 106 | board; amending s. 343.922, F.S.; requiring the |
| 107 | authority to present a certain master plan and updates |
| 108 | to, and coordinate projects and plans with, the Tampa |
| 109 | Bay Area Regional Transportation Authority (TBARTA) |
| 110 | Metropolitan Planning Organization Chairs Coordinating |
| 111 | Committee, rather than the West Central Florida M.P.O. |
| 112 | Chairs Coordinating Committee; requiring the authority |
| 113 | to provide certain administrative support and |
| 114 | direction to the TBARTA Metropolitan Planning |
| 115 | Organization Chairs Coordinating Committee; |