(NP) SR 1764

By Senator Montford 3-01965A-16 20161764 1 Senate Resolution 2 A resolution recognizing the 160th anniversary of 3 Taylor County's creation as an independent county. 4 5 WHEREAS, Taylor County, which comprises a land area of 6 1,043 square miles in the Big Bend, was created as a county 7 independent from Madison County in 1856, and 8 WHEREAS, Taylor County is named for United States President 9 Zachary Taylor, who, after the Second Seminole War, received the 10 brevet of brigadier general and, in 1838, the chief command in 11 Florida, and 12 WHEREAS, a number of prominent Floridians hailed from 13 Taylor County, including former Governor Cary Hardee; the first state librarian, William Thomas "W.T." Cash; the first 14 15 chancellor of the State University System, J. Broward Culpepper; and the first state auditor, Ollie Williams, and 16 17 WHEREAS, Taylor County was the site of Florida's first 18 full-time county health unit, and WHEREAS, for more than 60 years, Taylor County has been 19 20 home to the annual Florida Forest Festival and in 1965 was designated by then-Governor Haydon Burns as "Tree Capital of the 21 22 South," and 23 WHEREAS, Perry, the only incorporated city in Taylor County 24 and the county seat, is a family-friendly community with a 25 historic downtown lined with the shops of local merchants, NOW, 26 THEREFORE, 27 28 Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida: 29 30 That the 160th anniversary of Taylor County's creation as 31 an independent county is recognized.

Page 1 of 1

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.