HR 9075

1 House Resolution 2 A resolution honoring coach Jill Ellis and the United 3 States Women's National Soccer Team for winning the 4 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup. 5 6 WHEREAS, on July 5, 2015, in front of millions of viewers 7 worldwide, the United States Women's National Soccer Team, led 8 by coach Jill Ellis, a Miami-Dade County resident, defeated 9 reigning World Cup champion Japan 5-2 in Vancouver, Canada, to 10 win its third FIFA Women's World Cup title and end a 16-year 11 drought, and 12 WHEREAS, since the creation of the FIFA Women's World Cup in 1991, the United States Women's National Soccer Team is the 13 14 most successful team in the tournament's history and the first 15 team to win the tournament three times, and WHEREAS, coach Ellis and the team created history, scoring 16 17 four spectacular goals within the first 16 minutes of the match, the earliest a team has ever scored four goals in a single FIFA 18 19 Women's World Cup match, and surpassed Germany as the top-20 scoring team in FIFA Women's World Cup history with 112 goals, 21 and 22 WHEREAS, team captain Carli Lloyd became the first woman to score a hat trick in a World Cup final and tied for most goals 23 24 scored in the tournament, netting the Golden Ball award for best player of the tournament and the FIFA Women's World Player of 25 26 the Year award, and

Page 1 of 3

hr9075-00

2016

## HR 9075

27 WHEREAS, the team's defense was stalwart, tying a world 28 record 540 minutes of play without conceding a goal and earning 29 Hope Solo the Golden Glove award for best goalkeeper of the 30 tournament, and

31 WHEREAS, coach Jill Ellis became the first American to win 32 the FIFA Women's World Coach of the Year award after leading her 33 team to a record-setting season and World Cup victory in 2015, 34 and

35 WHEREAS, under the exemplary leadership of coach Jill Ellis 36 and her coaching staff, the United States Women's National 37 Soccer Team players Carli Lloyd, Hope Solo, Julie Johnston, Ali 38 Krieger, Ashlyn Harris, Meghan Klingenberg, Becky Sauerbrunn, Megan Rapinoe, Lauren Holiday, Tobin Heath, Alex Morgan, Sydney 39 Leroux, Lori Chalupny, Christie Rampone, Morgan Brian, Abby 40 41 Wambach, Amy Rodriquez, Christen Press, Kelley O'Hara, Alyssa 42 Naeher, Whitney Engen, Heather O'Reilly, and Shannon Boxx united 43 to form the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup championship team, NOW, THEREFORE, 44

45

46 Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of 47 Florida:

48

49 That coach Jill Ellis, her staff, and the players of the 50 United States Women's National Soccer Team are congratulated on 51 their fantastic and inspirational achievement of winning the

Page 2 of 3

2016

HR 9075

52 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup and for becoming the only team to53 win three World Cup finals.