Florida Senate - 2017 Bill No. SB 1672

4360

LEGISLATIVE ACTION

Senate Comm: RCS 03/23/2017 House

The Committee on Transportation (Latvala) recommended the following:

Senate Amendment

Delete lines 164 - 238

and insert:

(b) 3.a. Two members of the board shall be the mayor, or the mayor's designee, of the largest municipality within the service area of each of the following independent transit agencies or their legislatively created successor agencies: Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority and Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority. The largest municipality is that municipality

1 2 3

4

5

6

7

8

9

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT

Florida Senate - 2017 Bill No. SB 1672

13 14

15

16

17

33

34

35

36

37 38

39

436012

11 with the largest population as determined by the most recent 12 United States Decennial Census.

b. Should a mayor choose not to serve, his or her designee must be an elected official selected by the mayor from that largest municipality's city council or city commission. A mayor or his or her designee shall serve a 2-year term with not more than three consecutive terms being served by any person.

18 c. A designee's term ends if the mayor leaves office for 19 any reason. If a designee leaves elected office on the city 20 council or commission, a vacancy exists on the board to be 21 filled by the mayor of that municipality as provided in sub-22 subparagraph a.

23 (c) The following independent transit agencies or their 24 legislatively created successor agencies shall each appoint from 25 the membership of their governing bodies one member to the 26 board: Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority and Hillsborough Area 27 Regional Transit Authority. Each member appointed under this 28 paragraph shall serve a 2-year term with not more than three 29 consecutive terms being served by any person. If a member no 30 longer meets the transit authority's criteria for appointment, a 31 vacancy exists on the board which must be filled as provided in 32 this paragraph within 90 days.

(d) The President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall each appoint to the board one member from the regional business community, each of whom must reside in one of the counties governed by the authority and may not be an elected official. A member initially appointed under this paragraph shall serve a 1-year term. Thereafter, a member appointed under this paragraph shall serve a 2-year term with

Page 2 of 4

Florida Senate - 2017 Bill No. SB 1672

436012

40	not more than three consecutive terms being served by any
41	person. A vacancy during a term shall be filled within 90 days
42	in the same manner as the original appointment for the remainder
43	of the unexpired term.
44	d. A mayor who has served three consecutive terms on the
45	board must designate an elected official from that largest
46	municipality's city council or city commission to serve on the
47	board for at least one term.
48	4.a. One membership on the board shall rotate every 2 years
49	between the mayor, or his or her designee, of the largest
50	municipality within Manatee County and the mayor, or his or her
51	designee, of the largest municipality within Sarasota County.
52	The mayor, or his or her designee, from the largest municipality
53	within Manatee County shall serve the first 2-year term. The
54	largest municipality is that municipality with the largest
55	population as determined by the most recent United States
56	Decennial Census.
57	b. Should a mayor choose not to serve, his or her designee
58	must be an elected official selected by the mayor from that
59	municipality's city council or city commission.
60	(e) 5. The Governor shall appoint to the board <u>three members</u>
61	from the regional four business community representatives, each
62	of whom must reside in one of the seven counties governed by the
63	authority <u>and, none of whom</u> may <u>not</u> be <u>an</u> elected <u>official</u>
64	officials, and at least one but not more than two of whom shall
65	represent counties within the federally designated Tampa Bay
66	Transportation Management Area. Of the members initially
67	appointed under this paragraph, one shall serve a 1-year term,
68	one shall serve a 2-year term, and one shall serve a term as the

Florida Senate - 2017 Bill No. SB 1672

436012

69	initial chair as provided in subsection (5). Thereafter, a
70	member Members appointed under this paragraph by the Governor
71	shall serve <u>a 2-year term</u> 3-year terms with not more than <u>three</u>
72	two consecutive terms being served by any person.
73	(c) Appointments may be staggered to avoid mass turnover at
74	the end of any 2-year or 4-year period. A vacancy during a term
75	shall be filled by the respective appointing authority within 90
76	days in the same manner as the original appointment and only for
77	the remainder of the unexpired term.
78	(3) The members of the board shall serve without
79	compensation but shall be entitled to receive from the authority
80	reimbursement for travel expenses and per diem actually incurred
81	in connection with the business of the authority as provided in
82	s. 112.061.
83	(4) Members of the board shall comply with the applicable
84	financial disclosure requirements of ss. 112.3145, 112.3148, and
85	112.3149.
86	(5) The Governor shall appoint <u>one of the three members</u>
87	appointed under paragraph (2)(e) as the initial chair from among