By Senator Campbell

38-01393A-18 20181806

Senate Resolution

A resolution recognizing the Town of Surfside on the occasion of the 83rd anniversary of its founding.

WHEREAS, the Town of Surfside was founded on May 18, 1935, by members of the Surf Club, an exclusive private club, and

WHEREAS, the Town of Surfside is an oceanfront community in Miami-Dade County between Bal Harbour and Miami Beach and is known as "Miami's Uptown Beach Town," and

WHEREAS, municipal buildings such as the current town hall, which was renovated in 2001, and the community center, built in 1962, which houses the library, tourist bureau, and the Town of Surfside's recreation department, are widely praised facilities, and

WHEREAS, in order to preserve its aesthetic integrity and charm, the Town of Surfside maintains effective growth management and zoning policies and height requirements on condominiums and hotels along the oceanfront on Highway AlA, and

WHEREAS, in addition to its fine facilities and its efficient town services, the Town of Surfside is noted for its consistent commitment to the quality of life of its residents, and

WHEREAS, the Town of Surfside is led by Mayor Daniel Dietch, Vice Mayor Barry Richard Cohen, Town Manager Guillermo Olmedillo and councilors Daniel Gielchinsky, Michael Karukin, and Tina Paul, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

20181806___ 38-01393A-18 30 That this legislative body recognizes the Town of Surfside as it celebrates the 83rd anniversary of its founding. 31