(NP) SR 1838

 ${\bf By}$ Senator Farmer

1	34-03647-19 20191838
1	Senate Resolution
2	A resolution honoring the Florida State University
3	soccer team for winning the 2018 National Collegiate
4	Athletic Association Women's Soccer Championship.
5	
6	WHEREAS, the Florida State University soccer team, led by
7	Head Coach Mark Krikorian, won the 2018 National Collegiate
8	Athletic Association Women's Soccer Championship, the second
9	time in the school history that the team won this title, and
10	WHEREAS, on their way to the title, the Seminoles defeated
11	seven teams that accounted for 31 of the 35 all-time NCAA
12	Women's Soccer Championships, including each of the last three
13	national champions, and
14	WHEREAS, under the outstanding coaching of Coach Krikorian,
15	the Seminoles allowed just 13 goals through their 27 games and
16	posted 16 shutouts in the season, and
17	WHEREAS, the Seminoles were highly recognized at the
18	TopDrawerSoccer Postseason Awards, with Yujie Zhao named
19	National Freshman of the Year and Coach Krikorian named National
20	Coach of the Year, and
21	WHEREAS, other Seminoles who also earned national accolades
22	include Brooke Bollinger, Freshman Best XI Second Team; Deyna
23	Castellanos, Best XI Third Team; Jaelin Howell, Freshman Best XI
24	First Team; and Natalia Kuikka, Best XI Second Team, and
25	WHEREAS, the Seminoles placed six members on the College
26	Cup All-Tournament Team, including Dallas Dorosy, who was named
27	Most Outstanding Player on Offense, and Jaelin Howell, who was
28	named Most Outstanding Player on Defense, and
29	WHEREAS, Gabby Carle won the NCAA Elite 90 Award, which

Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 1838

I	34-03647-19 20191838_
30	recognizes the student-athlete with the highest grade point
31	average at the College Cup, NOW, THEREFORE,
32	
33	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:
34	
35	That the Florida State University soccer team is
36	congratulated for winning the 2018 National Collegiate Athletic
37	Association Women's Soccer Championship.
38	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this resolution be
39	presented to the President of Florida State University, John
40	Thrasher; Interim Athletics Director, David Coburn; Head Soccer
41	Coach, Mark Krikorian; and each assistant coach and member of
42	the Florida State University soccer team as a tangible token of
43	the sentiments expressed herein.

Page 2 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.