HR 8029 2021

House Resolution

A resolution congratulating the Tampa Bay Buccaneers for their victory in Super Bowl LV.

WHEREAS, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers joined the National Football League (NFL) as an expansion team in 1976, and

WHEREAS, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers won their first Super Bowl on January 26, 2003, in Super Bowl XXXVII by defeating the Oakland Raiders by a score of 48-21, and

WHEREAS, several Tampa Bay Buccaneers franchise records were set during the 2020 regular season as quarterback Tom Brady threw a record 40 touchdown passes and wide receiver Mike Evans had a record breaking 13 receiving touchdowns and became the first wide receiver in NFL history with 1,000 or more yards receiving in each of his first seven seasons, and

WHEREAS, on their way to Super Bowl LV, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers finished the 2020 regular season with an 11-5 record before defeating the Washington Football Team in the Wild Card game by a score of 31 to 23, the New Orleans Saints in the Divisional Round playoff game by a score of 30 to 20, and the Green Bay Packers in the Conference Championship by a score of 31 to 26, and

WHEREAS, on February 7, 2021, in Super Bowl LV at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers defeated the AFC champion Kansas City Chiefs 31-9, claiming their second

HR 8029 2021

Vince Lombardi Trophy in the 46 years that the franchise has competed in the NFL, and

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

46

47

WHEREAS, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers' Super Bowl LV win made the Buccaneers the only team other than the Baltimore Ravens to be undefeated in multiple Super Bowls, and

WHEREAS, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers became the first NFL team to play and to win a Super Bowl in their home stadium, and

WHEREAS, Tampa Bay Buccaneers' assistant defensive line coach Lori Locust and assistant strength and conditioning coach Maral Javadifar became the first female coaches in NFL history to win the Super Bowl, and

WHEREAS, Tampa Bay Buccaneers' quarterback Tom Brady won his seventh Super Bowl as a starting quarterback and was named Super Bowl MVP, his fifth Super Bowl MVP award, and

WHEREAS, Super Bowl LV was head coach Bruce Arians' first Super Bowl win as a head coach, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

That the Tampa Bay Buccaneers are congratulated for their victory in Super Bowl LV at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa.

Page 2 of 2