(NP) SR 1734

By Senator Berman

	26-03558-23 20231734
1	Senate Resolution
2	A resolution recognizing and celebrating the
3	incredible accomplishments of the Florida Atlantic
4	University men's basketball team and the university's
5	commitment to both academic and athletic excellence,
6	creating a collegiate brand that is nationally
7	renowned.
8	
9	WHEREAS, based in Boca Raton, Florida Atlantic University
10	(FAU) is a public research university within the State
11	University System with an outstanding track record of providing
12	access, excellence, and social mobility to its diverse student
13	body located across six campuses spanning 110 miles of the
14	Southeast Florida coastline, and
15	WHEREAS, the FAU men's basketball team, the Owls, was
16	established in 1988 and joined Division I in 1993, where they
17	first held membership with the ASUN Conference, previously known
18	as the Trans America Athletic Conference, and
19	WHEREAS, FAU moved to the Sun Belt Conference in 2004 and
20	to Conference USA in 2013, and will join the American Athletic
21	Conference in July 2023, and
22	WHEREAS, the FAU men's basketball team achieved a final
23	overall record of 35-4 for the 2023 season, the best in team
24	history, and
25	WHEREAS, FAU's 20-game winning streak was not only a school
26	record, but the longest of any team in the nation during the
27	2023 season, and
28	WHEREAS, FAU entered the AP Top 25 College Basketball Poll
29	for the first time in school history, reaching 19th in the
	Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

20231734 26-03558-23 30 nation, and 31 WHEREAS, FAU began the NCAA tournament as the No. 9 seed, 32 the team's second appearance in tournament history and its first 33 in 21 years, and 34 WHEREAS, FAU defeated Memphis 66-65 for its first 35 tournament win in team history, capped by a Nick Boyd score with 36 2.5 seconds remaining and Giancarlo Rosado leading the team with 37 15 points, and WHEREAS, FAU defeated Fairleigh Dickinson University 78-70, 38 39 led by Johnell Davis's 29-point, 12-rebound, 5-assist, and 5-40 steal performance, and WHEREAS, FAU defeated No. 4 seed University of Tennessee 41 42 62-55 at Madison Square Garden, thanks to a second-half push led by Michael Forrest's 8-0 run, which gave FAU its first lead 43 44 since the opening minute of the game, and WHEREAS, FAU defeated No. 3 seed Kansas State University 45 46 79-76 at Madison Square Garden, with a well-rounded performance 47 featuring 14 points from Vladislav Goldin, 13 points from Johnell Davis, 17 points from Alijah Martin, and 16 points from 48 49 Bryan Greenlee, and 50 WHEREAS, FAU made its first-ever Final Four, one of nine 51 teams to ever make it as a No. 9 seed or below, and one of five 52 teams to make it after entering without a previous tournament 53 win, and 54 WHEREAS, FAU valiantly fell 72-71 to San Diego State University off a last-second buzzer beater at NRG Stadium in 55 56 Houston, despite Alijah Martin's 26-point, 7-rebound, and 1-57 steal game, and 58 WHEREAS, FAU's Final Four appearance will likely have long-

Page 2 of 3

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(NP) SR 1734

26-03558-23

59 lasting positive impacts for the university, its athletic 60 programs, and this state, NOW, THEREFORE, 61 62 Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida: 63 64 That the incredible accomplishments of the Florida Atlantic 65 University men's basketball team are recognized and celebrated, as is the university's commitment to both academic and athletic 66 67 excellence, creating a collegiate brand that is nationally 68 renowned. 69 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate congratulates team 70 members Leo Beath, Nicholas Boyd, Tre Carroll, Johnell Davis, 71 Michael Forrest, Jalen Gaffney, Isaiah Gaines, Vladislav Goldin,

72 Bryan Greenlee, Jack Johnson, Brenen Lorient, Alijah Martin, 73 Alejandro Ralat, Giancarlo Rosado, and Brandon Weatherspoon on 74 their teamwork, blazing new trails for the FAU men's basketball 75 program.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate recognizes the diligent work of Head Coach Dusty May, along with Assistant Coaches Todd Abernethy, Kyle Church, and Drew Williamson, Assistant to the Head Coach Brandon Gilbert, and Director of Operations KT Harrell, in shaping the Owls into a team of winners who defy expectations.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate also recognizes the university staff who contribute to the operation of the basketball facility and to the overall success of the team and the university and the extraordinary efforts of all involved in the accomplishments of the FAU 2022-2023 men's basketball team.

Page 3 of 3

(NP) SR 1734

20231734