Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Archives | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

Majority Office — Press Release


November 29, 2016

CONTACT: LaQuisha Persak, (850) 487-5184

President Negron Appoints Senator Simpson Majority Leader, Senator Stargel Deputy Leader

Tallahassee —

Tallahassee–Florida Senate President Joe Negron (R-Stuart) today appointed Senator Wilton Simpson (R-Trilby) as Senate Majority Leader and Senator Kelli Stargel (R-Lakeland) as Deputy Majority Leader for the 2016-2018 legislative term.

“Wilton is a conservative leader whose tremendous success in the private sector serves as a foundation for his belief in limited government and the supremacy of the individual, values many Senators on both sides of the political aisle share,” said President Negron. “Over the last four years, Wilton has gained the confidence of his colleagues in matters both large and small.”

“Kelli is a fighter who is not afraid to take on difficult issues,” said President Negron. “She is a dedicated conservative with a wealth of legislative experience. Together, Senator Simpson and Senator Stargel will be strong leaders for our Republican Caucus.”

Senator Simpson represents Senate District 10, which includes Citrus, Hernando, and parts of Pasco counties. He was elected to the Senate in 2012 and was re-elected subsequently. Senator Simpson is a graduate of Pasco Hernando Community College and is the owner of Simpson Environmental Services, Inc., and Simpson Farms, Inc. 

Senator Stargel represents Senate District 22, which includes parts of Lake and Polk counties. She was elected to the Senate in 2012 and reelected subsequently. Senator Stargel previously served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2008 to 2012. 

# # #