Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

2010 Florida Statutes

F.S. 631.912

Board of directors.


The board of directors of the corporation shall consist of 11 persons, 1 of whom is the insurance consumer advocate appointed under s. 627.0613 or designee and 1 of whom is designated by the Chief Financial Officer. The department shall appoint to the board 6 persons selected by private carriers from among the 20 workers’ compensation insurers with the largest amount of net direct written premium as determined by the department, and 3 persons selected by the self-insurance funds. At least two of the private carriers shall be foreign carriers authorized to do business in this state. The board shall elect a chairperson from among its members. The Chief Financial Officer may remove any board member for cause. Each board member shall serve for a 4-year term and may be reappointed. A vacancy on the board shall be filled for the remaining period of the term in the same manner by which the original appointment was made.


Members of the board may be reimbursed from the assets of the corporation for actual and reasonable out-of-pocket expenses incurred by them as members of the board of directors; however, members of the board may not otherwise be compensated by the corporation for their services.


s. 20, ch. 97-262; s. 3, ch. 2003-108; s. 1373, ch. 2003-261.