Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

CS/HB 173 — Medical Faculty Certification

by Health Quality Subcommittee; and Rep. Magar and others (SB 878 by Senator Sachs)

This summary is provided for information only and does not represent the opinion of any Senator, Senate Officer, or Senate Office.

Prepared by: Health Policy Committee (HP)

The bill (Chapter 2016-54) expands the current medical faculty certificate eligibility criteria by allowing a medical faculty certificate to be issued to an individual who has been offered and has accepted a full-time faculty appointment to teach in a program of medicine at the Florida Atlantic University. The bill also limits the number of extended medical faculty certificate holders allowed at the Florida Atlantic University to 30 persons, which is consistent with limitations for all but one of the other institutions eligible for such certificates.

A medical faculty certificate allows medical school faculty physicians to practice medicine in Florida without sitting for and successfully passing a licensure examination. A physician who receives a medical faculty certificate has all rights and responsibilities as other licensed physicians, except the certificate holder may only practice in conjunction with a full-time faculty position at an accredited medical school and its affiliated clinical facilities or teaching hospitals.

The bill also changes the name of the Mayo Medical School at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida, in s. 458.3145, F.S., to the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine in Jacksonville, Florida, to expand the eligibility of physicians who teach at the college to receive medical faculty certificates.

These provisions were approved by the Governor and take effect July 1, 2016.

Vote: Senate 38-0; House 116-0