Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

SB 1520: Medicaid

GENERAL BILL by Appropriations

Medicaid; Providing that certain rural hospitals remain rural hospitals under specified circumstances; requiring the Agency for Health Care Administration to implement a prospective payment system for inpatient hospital services using diagnosis-related groups (DRGs); establishing the Statewide Medicaid Residency Program; amending parameters for the disproportionate share program for specialty hospitals; limiting reimbursement to tuberculosis services provided under contract with the Department of Health; revising the method for calculating each county's contribution, etc.

Effective Date: 7/1/2013
Last Action: 5/20/2013 - Chapter No. 2013-48, companion bill(s) passed, see CS/CS/HB 939 (Ch. 2013-150), SB 1500 (Ch. 2013-40)
Bill Text: Web Page | PDF

Bill History

Date Chamber Action
4/4/2013 Senate SPB 7058 submitted as a committee bill (SB 1520) by Appropriations
• Filed
• Placed on Calendar, on 2nd reading -SJ 349
• Placed on Special Order Calendar, 04/10/13
• Introduced -SJ 349
4/10/2013 Senate • Read 2nd time -SJ 385
• Read 3rd time -SJ 385
• Passed; YEAS 35 NAYS 4 -SJ 385
• The Senate requests that the House pass the bill as passed by the Senate or agree to include the bill in the Budget Conference -SJ 388
• Immediately certified -SJ 388
• Conference Committee appointed: Appropriations Conference Committee: Negron (Chair), Benacquisto (Vice Chair), Flores (At Large), Gardiner (At Large), Margolis (At Large), Richter (At Large), Smith (At Large), Thrasher (At Large); Appropriations Conference Committee on Criminal and Civil Justice: Bradley (Chair), Clemens, Diaz de la Portilla, Garcia, Joyner; Appropriations Conference Committee on Education: Galvano (Chair), Bullard, Detert, Legg, Montford, Sachs, Thrasher; Appropriations Conference Committee on Finance and Tax: Hukill (Chair), Abruzzo, Altman, Brandes, Evers, Ring, Simmons; Appropriations Conference Committee on General Government: Hays (Chair), Braynon, Dean, Simpson, Soto, Stargel; Appropriations Conference Committee on Health and Human Services: Grimsley (Chair), Bean, Flores, Gibson, Sobel; Appropriations Conference Committee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development: Gardiner (Chair), Latvala, Lee, Margolis, Thompson -SJ 396
4/10/2013 House • In Messages
• Received -HJ 460
4/11/2013 House • Read 2nd time -HJ 523
• Amendment(s) adopted (874591) -HJ 536
• Placed on 3rd reading
4/12/2013 House • Read 3rd time -HJ 601
• Passed as amended; YEAS 116 NAYS 0 -HJ 602
• Refused to concur, acceded to request for conference committee -HJ 606
• Immediately certified -HJ 606
4/12/2013 Senate • In returning messages
4/18/2013 House • Conference Committee appointed: Representatives Hudson (Chair), Brodeur, Cummings, Diaz, Oliva, Patronis, Wood, Cruz, Richardson, Coley (At Large), Gonzalez (At Large), Holder (At Large), O'Toole (At Large), Precourt (At Large), Schenck (At Large), Workman (At Large), Young (At Large), Gibbons (At Large), Jones (At Large), Rouson (At Large), Thurston (At Large), Waldman (At Large) -HJ 675
5/3/2013 Senate • Conference Committee Report received -SJ 1074
• Conference Committee Report adopted (214070) -SJ 1082
• Passed as amended by Conference Committee Report; YEAS 33 NAYS 6 -SJ 1082
5/3/2013 House • In returning messages
• Conference Committee Report considered -HJ 1242
• Conference Committee Report adopted (214070) -HJ 1250
• Passed as amended by Conference Committee Report; YEAS 79 NAYS 38 -HJ 1250
5/3/2013 Senate • Ordered engrossed, then enrolled -SJ 1404
5/10/2013 • Signed by Officers and presented to Governor
5/20/2013 • Approved by Governor
• Chapter No. 2013-48, companion bill(s) passed, see CS/CS/HB 939 (Ch. 2013-150), SB 1500 (Ch. 2013-40)