Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Archives | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

Updates to this website are being made to reflect the results of the General Election.

Senator Albritton, District 26 — Press Release


October 31, 2017

CONTACT: Marty Mielke, 863-465-2626

Senator Grimsley Receives Florida Farm Bureau Legislator Of The Year Award

Ponte Vedra Beach —

Florida State Senator Denise Grimsley (R-Lake Placid) today received the 2017 Florida Farm Bureau Legislator of the Year award at the association’s annual meeting.

“I am truly honored to receive the ‘2017 Legislator of the Year’ award from Florida Farm Bureau,” said Senator Grimsley. “The Florida Farm Bureau is an incredible advocate for the agricultural community and I was proud to work with them during the 2017 Legislative Session to advance legislation to support Florida farmers.”

“As chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee, I look forward to working this coming session with the Florida Farm Bureau to help our farming community recover the terrible damage wrought by Hurricane Irma,” continued Senator Grimsley. “Agriculture is the backbone of our economy, and it is my hope the Legislature will come together to support Florida farmers.”

Senator Grimsley was named the 2017 Florida Farm Bureau ‘Legislator of the Year’ for championing a variety of agriculture-related bills and appropriations during the 2017 Legislative Session, including funding for the University of Florida’s Institute for Food and Agricultural Sciences, support for the pollution notification law, support for overturning vetoes of funding for IFAS and 4-H, and her sponsorship of Senate Bill 600, which promotes economic opportunity in rural communities.

Senator Grimsley is the chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee. Elected in 2012, she represents District 26 in the Florida Senate, which includes DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Highlands and Okeechobee Counties and portions of Charlotte, Lee and Polk Counties.


# # #